Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent! We had a potluck at work and my coworkers LOVED it, as did I. I used smoked turkey sausage instead and was yummy as ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
We just had this for supper this evening. Oh my goodness, it's the best soup we've ever had. I added a little more andouille and some seasoned salt and used chicken stock. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haehl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
good soup, a little thinner than expected, could have used more potato. would be very nice with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Absolutely excellent soup!! I did change the chicken broth to vegetable broth (and used 32 ounces) and then just used a quart of half and half. Once everything was cooked and ready, I thickened the soup with a little cornstarch. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good Solid recipe. Everyone likes it and requests it even but I still feel like there's something missing. I've tried using different greenery (kale, mustard greens & collards) and I've tried different kinds/brands of sausage. If you're trying to get the taste of Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana then this isn't quite it, but it's definitely an acceptable second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This soup was delicious! I followed the recipe, except I substituted the heavy cream for about 1/4 cup of fat-free half and half, and used skim milk for the rest of it. I also didn't have any parmesan cheese, but I didn't miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow! This soup is amazing!! I used smoked turkey sausage instead of the andouille. I absolutely loved the flavor of this. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
OMG. This was amazing. I have to admit I changed it a bit for what I had available. I only had 2.5 links of chicken andouille sausage so I addded 4 strips of bacon. I didn't have an onion so I used 2 celery stalks. I only had fresh rosemary and thyme so I used 1 TBSP of each then 1/2 tsp of dried basil and oregano. We ate it in rosemary bread bowls- YUM. This will put the pounds but we don't care- this will be a regular winter recipe for us! It is more Italian than Cajun but not at all like Olive Garden- ew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was very good... the sausage we used from the local butcher shop made this soup even better I'm sure. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I used Italian sausage instead of the andouille. I also used Romano cheese instead of Parmesan, because I had some left over from another recipe. Family LOVED it. Told me to save in my recipes to make again. I also used a potato masher once the potatoes were soft so that it was more smooth. It's a really good recipe and you can deviate to make it fit what you already have. I loved most that it only used 2 tsp of Italian seasoning, but still came out so tasty. As another reviewer said it is very reminiscent of an Olive Garden soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States