Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
absolutely AMAZING!!!!! Made this for first time tonight and was told many times that it was BETTER than Olive Garden's! I used regular ol Jimmy Dean sausage, added ceyenne pepper, used all milk no heavy cream and thickened it a little with cornstarch. You definately dont NEED the butter & olive oil, the grease from the sausage is plenty! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!! It was also very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This soup was yummy, but I did make a few changes. I used 1 pound andouille sausage and 1 pound of mild italian sausage. I would have used hot, but was afraid it would be too spicy for my 3 young children. I also add half a pound of fried bacon. I wasn't crazy about how thin the soup was so made a rue and added it to help thicking up the soup, more like a chowder. I did omit the spinach because my kids wouldn't have touched the soup with it in. It was great! next time, I will probably make 1/2 the recipe in a seperate dish for hubby and I and add the spinach! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have made this several times now. Reeeeeeally good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This soup is really easy and tasty. I usually use kale instead of spinach because I think it holds up better when packing left overs. I also add a little bit of cajun seasoning. It has to be really good since this is one of the few dishes I make that my husband will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made it just the way the recipe is written and it is perfect! This is now on the regular dinner rotation with some Texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Shock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
used a little less spinach and a little less heavy cream turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
It was very good. I wouldn't call it a cajun soup, and changed it up with 1 pound of sausage and 1 pound of bacon - YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My boyfriend wanted to give this SEVEN out of five stars! YUM! I added some fresh mushrooms when the potatoes were first thrown in... sooooooo good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe, but made with kielbasa instead, as that is what I had on hand. Had to make it again a few days later for a friend who insisted I give her the recipe. Want to try with the andouille sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I used Turkey Polska Kielbasa. Used half & half instead of heavy cream because that is what I had. Added ground cayenne pepper to give this recipe a little heat. Amazing recipe and Oh! so good. I like a thicker soup so I used a small amount of corn starch with some of the hot soup that was added back to the pot to thicken. Prepared this tonight and will have it for dinner tomorrow. Can't wait!! Thank you! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States