Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
use regular pork sausage and it's five stars!! you can also substitute canned milk for heavy creem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love this though I skip the andouile an use chorizo. Make sure you cut it into small pieces and no oil or butter is necessary. I also skip the spinach, cause I only like it raw. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I had high expectations for this soup and it didn't deliver on all the lofty five star reviews. Maybe my taste buds are out protesting on Wall Street. They certainly didn't fancy this soup, though. It was milky but not in a creamy, delicious way-- but rather, in a runny, unsubstantial way. It was flavorless despite my choosing a spicy sausage to grace it's milky boringness. I definitely wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Not as flavorful as I'd hoped. Not bad, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great comfort soup! I had some leftover venison sausage that I used-it was a spicy sausage-and it was perfect! Love it and will for sure be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEIGHANNA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This soup was excellent and loved by all except my 12-year-old who simply does not care for anything creamy or spicy. I would have been very surprised if she did like it. I made a few changes that did not alter the basic recipe, though. One thing that I felt was important was the size of the sausage pieces. I halved them lengthwise before slicing them so they would be more bite-size. I'm glad that I did this. I also could not locate a fresh bunch of spinach other than an entire big bag, so I opted to try a box of frozen already chopped package. It was perfect and made the recipe even easier and less time consuming. I also used one more potato than the recipe called for and it could have used even more. Next time I'll add about three extra potatoes. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. It was so tasty despite the fact that the only spice used was the Italian seasoning. The andouille sausage provided all the spice that you would need. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Doubled the recipe and reduced the cream in half. It turned out delicious. I took this to a soup pot luck and everyone loved it! I barely had enough left after the event. A must soup to make in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
My husband hates it when he finds out that I cooked soup for dinner, but he absolutly loves this soup! He raves to everyone about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg, Florida, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
this was wonderful, and exactly what i like to see in a recipe---inexpensive, simple to prepare, and delicious!! i made a couple changes... used half and half instead of cream, and spicy italian sausage instead of andouille because that was what i had on hand, and i omitted the italian seasoning since it was in sausage already. my husband loves this soup because it tastes a lot like the zuppa toscana from the olive garden! i will be making this again : ) thanks for great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My new favorite meal! Wait til you smell it cooking. YUM. It is easily halved & a half recipe makes about 8 cups soup. Each cup is 8 Weight Watchers Points LOL. One time, we substituted the andouille with smoked sausage, just to make it more appealing to the kids (they don't like anything spicy), but it's just not the same. LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States