Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made the soup as is and added a few more seasonings (ie: cayenne, white pepper, and paprika). It came out absolutely delicious! The person who earlier commented that it was like an Olive Garden soup was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I didnt change a thing and LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Yeah, I know fat = flavor, but an oil-slicked soup was not on the menu, so I browned the sausage first, then removed from pot onto paper towels. Pouring off the fat, there was still a residual amount left in which to give the onions and garlic a quick saute before adding the potatoes, etc. I waited on the addition of f/f half-&-half (instead of using both milk and heavy cream) until the potatoes cooked to release enough thickening starch, then just added to desired consistency. The fresh spinach and Parm were very enjoyable additions to this soup, but I found myself wanting to taste more Cajun-esque components like peppers, celery, cayenne, green onions. A decent potato soup recipe, just not one I'm likely to replicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
use regular pork sausage and it's five stars!! you can also substitute canned milk for heavy creem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love this though I skip the andouile an use chorizo. Make sure you cut it into small pieces and no oil or butter is necessary. I also skip the spinach, cause I only like it raw. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I had high expectations for this soup and it didn't deliver on all the lofty five star reviews. Maybe my taste buds are out protesting on Wall Street. They certainly didn't fancy this soup, though. It was milky but not in a creamy, delicious way-- but rather, in a runny, unsubstantial way. It was flavorless despite my choosing a spicy sausage to grace it's milky boringness. I definitely wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Not as flavorful as I'd hoped. Not bad, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great comfort soup! I had some leftover venison sausage that I used-it was a spicy sausage-and it was perfect! Love it and will for sure be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEIGHANNA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This soup was excellent and loved by all except my 12-year-old who simply does not care for anything creamy or spicy. I would have been very surprised if she did like it. I made a few changes that did not alter the basic recipe, though. One thing that I felt was important was the size of the sausage pieces. I halved them lengthwise before slicing them so they would be more bite-size. I'm glad that I did this. I also could not locate a fresh bunch of spinach other than an entire big bag, so I opted to try a box of frozen already chopped package. It was perfect and made the recipe even easier and less time consuming. I also used one more potato than the recipe called for and it could have used even more. Next time I'll add about three extra potatoes. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. It was so tasty despite the fact that the only spice used was the Italian seasoning. The andouille sausage provided all the spice that you would need. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Doubled the recipe and reduced the cream in half. It turned out delicious. I took this to a soup pot luck and everyone loved it! I barely had enough left after the event. A must soup to make in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States