Cajun Ponchartrain Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I served this sauce over blackened tilapia. We had my parents over for dinner and they loved it. My dad kept saying, "wow!" I read the reviews about the sauce being thin so I added about a teaspoon of flour to the warm butter to make a thin roux before adding the cream so that the sauce would be thicker. Don't know if it made a difference but my sauce wasn't thin, it was perfect! It makes it hard to go spend $25 for a dish at pricey seafood restaurants when it only cost me about $12 to feed 4. ***UPDATE***I have made this about half a dozen more times and now I saute a chopped shallot and a few garlic cloves, chopped, in the butter after the shrimp are done and I still add flour to make a roux before adding the cream. Chopped parsley is another touch to make it beautiful! This sauce is absolutely decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This receipe was fantastic. Served it over pan fried flounder - My husband thought he was in heaven. I felt like I was eating at Commander's Palace in New Orleans. Easy and quick. This receipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This sauce is unbelievable!! Don't change anything except how much you make, MAKE EXTRA, you'll be glad you did. I serve this sauce with blackened tilapia along with sauteed asparagus and rice pilaf (the sauce is good with the rice, too!) My family begs for this fabulous meal almost every day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Catchy, inviting name, good sauce. Didn't have Madeira but dry sherry was a worthy substitute. I sautéed fresh minced garlic, some minced shallots and the mushrooms (an “exotic blend),” set that aside, cooked up the shrimp, then added them to the mushrooms. I didn’t measure anything for the sauce, just melted the butter and added a full cup of cream and a glug of dry sherry and simmered it, reducing it to the thickness I desired (thickening with flour or cornstarch is not necessary). Once thickened I added the shrimp/mushroom mixture. This is a rich and luscious sauce, not heavily seasoned, so it was ideal for the spicier, blackened halibut we served it with. This was simply an excellent and elegant dish. This was one of those rare occasions where Hubs voiced his opinion before it was even asked for. “This is awesome,” he said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved it! We had it over cedar plank salmon. Fantastic! The measurements say 1/4 cup of butter and then says to use 1 teaspoon for saute and 2 teaspoons for sauce. Should actually read 1 tablespoon for saute and 3 tablespoons for sauce. Again, this was a great addition to our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
The flavor is wonderful...I gave this 4 stars only because I didn't include the shrimp, didn't have any. I actually served this over some Chicken & Spinach patties. WE LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was excellent. I did not have whipping cream or madeira on hand, but subbed 1% milk and cream sherry (after an internet search for subs for Madeira). I added 1 tsp of cornstarch to thicken the roux. This was the perfect topper for the Blackened Tuna Steak recipe from this site. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Fantastic. I added some fresh parsley to finish it off. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I felt that it needed more "spice" and needed to be thicker. It was still good but I had to add lots more spice and next time I will try and make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Love this sauce. Only thing is that I would like to add some fresh crushed garlic, onion and even a pinch of cajun seasoning next time. I used a whole bag of uncooked frozen shrimp and they were great! Hubby cooked the Yellow Fin Tuna on the grill and we used this on top of it. In addition to adding the onion and garlic, I would like serve this over white rice, possibly without the fish and just the shrimp. Yum. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States