Cajun Ponchartrain Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I just made this and it is fabulous over blackened red snapper. I added a few drops of Tabasco to the final simmer and doubled the recipe, as many reviewers had suggested. The mild flavor of this sauce is perfect against the spicy blackened red snapper. I served it with fresh steamed broccoli and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wow! Fabulous! Most Excellent .... all the above and more. I used way too much shrimp but whose complaining, should have doubled the mushrooms. I did use the baby bellas - the strong mushrooms were great with the sauce. I was afraid the simmering with the shrimp in the sauce would have made them tought but not so. It was a great New Year's Eve dinner. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved it! We had it over cedar plank salmon. Fantastic! The measurements say 1/4 cup of butter and then says to use 1 teaspoon for saute and 2 teaspoons for sauce. Should actually read 1 tablespoon for saute and 3 tablespoons for sauce. Again, this was a great addition to our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe turned out great! I did not have Madeira wine, but it still came out delicious. I put it on top of blackened chicken, and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Froggy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This looked like a 25.00 plate at a fancy restaurant! Very quick & inexpensive to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Sumptuous and a genuine celebration of Cajun cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
The flavor is wonderful...I gave this 4 stars only because I didn't include the shrimp, didn't have any. I actually served this over some Chicken & Spinach patties. WE LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I felt that it needed more "spice" and needed to be thicker. It was still good but I had to add lots more spice and next time I will try and make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. I used the inexpensive version of the wine and it tasted great. Super easy to make and would go well over creps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This sauce is unbelievable!! Don't change anything except how much you make, MAKE EXTRA, you'll be glad you did. I serve this sauce with blackened tilapia along with sauteed asparagus and rice pilaf (the sauce is good with the rice, too!) My family begs for this fabulous meal almost every day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States