Cajun Ponchartrain Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great pairing with spicy blackened fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
As written this was pretty bland. It tasted like a thin version of Newburg sauce. I didnt think it would do anything for the expensive cod I wanted to serve it with so I enriched it with 2 egg yolks and extra cream. There was nothing about it that suggested Louisiana cooking to me, so I sauteed up some onions, celery, bell pepper and garlic in bacon fat and stirred it in. I also added enough cayenne to get a good Cajun kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Catchy, inviting name, good sauce. Didn't have Madeira but dry sherry was a worthy substitute. I sautéed fresh minced garlic, some minced shallots and the mushrooms (an “exotic blend),” set that aside, cooked up the shrimp, then added them to the mushrooms. I didn’t measure anything for the sauce, just melted the butter and added a full cup of cream and a glug of dry sherry and simmered it, reducing it to the thickness I desired (thickening with flour or cornstarch is not necessary). Once thickened I added the shrimp/mushroom mixture. This is a rich and luscious sauce, not heavily seasoned, so it was ideal for the spicier, blackened halibut we served it with. This was simply an excellent and elegant dish. This was one of those rare occasions where Hubs voiced his opinion before it was even asked for. “This is awesome,” he said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very Very Very Good!! Made this tonight for dinner and it was oh so good! I could not find Madeira wine so I subbed a dry sherry for it and I also added some chopped shallots that I sauted with the mushrooms. I doubled the sauce so that I would have enough and added about 25 jumbo shrimp The sauce was thin but I didnt care it was still delicious. I served it over cajun seasoned baked tilapia. My six yr old had thirds and wanted fourths I had to stop him lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMAAMA01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was excellent. I did not have whipping cream or madeira on hand, but subbed 1% milk and cream sherry (after an internet search for subs for Madeira). I added 1 tsp of cornstarch to thicken the roux. This was the perfect topper for the Blackened Tuna Steak recipe from this site. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Love this sauce. Only thing is that I would like to add some fresh crushed garlic, onion and even a pinch of cajun seasoning next time. I used a whole bag of uncooked frozen shrimp and they were great! Hubby cooked the Yellow Fin Tuna on the grill and we used this on top of it. In addition to adding the onion and garlic, I would like serve this over white rice, possibly without the fish and just the shrimp. Yum. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was so delicious! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I served this sauce over blackened tilapia. We had my parents over for dinner and they loved it. My dad kept saying, "wow!" I read the reviews about the sauce being thin so I added about a teaspoon of flour to the warm butter to make a thin roux before adding the cream so that the sauce would be thicker. Don't know if it made a difference but my sauce wasn't thin, it was perfect! It makes it hard to go spend $25 for a dish at pricey seafood restaurants when it only cost me about $12 to feed 4. ***UPDATE***I have made this about half a dozen more times and now I saute a chopped shallot and a few garlic cloves, chopped, in the butter after the shrimp are done and I still add flour to make a roux before adding the cream. Chopped parsley is another touch to make it beautiful! This sauce is absolutely decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
My husband and I both thought this had a really good flavor. I did add onions and saute with the mushrooms and used fat free half and half instead of cream. I expected this sauce to be thicker, and even doubled as some reviewers suggested, but was a little disappointed in it's thinness. We served with seared tuna steaks and herb pasta. Hubby is requesting again with more shrimp and serving over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States