Cajun Pasta Fresca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was pretty good. Nothing super standout about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW!!!!! SOOOOOO GOOD!!! Made half the suggested serving size (i.e. 4 serving's worth) for my fiance and I Thursday night. I pretty much followed Nicole's directions to the letter, with the exception of the following: a) I added about 1/8 c. more mozzarella/Parm cheese than called for, b) used a full t garlic, c) used up all 8 roma tomatoes I had on hand instead of 6 1/2 as suggested (I feared a dry end product otherwise) and d) used a full T of Creole seasoning for more flavor (I scaled the salt to half though). My pasta of choice was spaghettini. My local Italian market did not have vermicelli (go figure!). Perhaps the two are the same??? Oh, and I added some pre-cooked tail-on shrimp (added during last 5 minutes of cooking), but my fiance and I both agree that protein is not necessary (and we didn't care for the taste of the shrimp in this at all). I think blackened chicken would be a better choice (IMHO). Served with garlic bread and wine, this was a lovely meal. What a great way to use summer's bounty of fresh tomatoes!!! Thanks so much for sharing, Nicole :) This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I added the Cajun seasoning to taste and didn't use salt, used more garlic and added 2 chopped chicken breasts that I had in the freezer, they had been marinated in the Smokey Tequila Marinade recipe then grilled. I didn't use the mozzarella. Next time I'm going to sprinkle the cheese on top because it kind of disappeared into the sauce. The fresh tomatoes were so much better than canned. Also, I think it's important to add something- chicken, broccoli, spinach, mushrooms, even tofu- to make the dish a bit more substantial. All in all, we really enjoyed this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is a 10 star recipe! This has so much flavor and everything works together very nicely. I was a little short on time so I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, but they worked well. The only other change I made was to use whole grain thin spaghetti instead of the vermicelli. The mozzarella and fresh parsley really make this a fabulous pasta dish. Yum! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as it says and wow. It was good!! It was very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was fabulous! I used canned tomatoes the second time I made it. I recommend draining them if you do use canned or it will be soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was a good light meal, I liked it. It was easy and quick with few ingredients. I think I'll try it with shrimp next time to make it a bit more substantial. Oh I used canned diced tomatoes chopped up smaller, but if you do this, dont add all the liquid, I ended up having to take some out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I made this recipe without modifications, and I just did not like it very much. I usually love pasta, but this recipe completely lacked flavor in my opinion. For those of you looking who are looking for a really delicious, simple pasta recipe, look for the zucchini pasta recipe on this site. That one has been a winner for my family. This one, however, was a huge letdown. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Awesome One

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
It was ok, I didn't drain the noodles enough so it was really watery... the cajun had a hard time making a statement. i might add more veggies to make it a little more hearty. Good concept though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesiepes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Good dish. Served with zucchini. Next time will add some grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States