Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Being from South Louisiana, I have to say that this is more of a Jambalaya than a dirty rice, as there are no ground chicken livers in it and dirty rice does not usually contain sausage or beans. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Scott, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I absolutely ADORE this recipe!! I double the recipe and take to parties. I usually cut back on the ground beef a little bit. When I double the recipe I usually only use 1 1/2 pounds ground beef. I also use one can milder Rotel and one can regular Rotel, so that it's not too spicy. I also recommend starting the onion with a little garlic before throwing in the meat...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this tonight, and it was great! I served it with cornbread, and it was an awesome meal! I did made some changes, though. I halved the recipe because it was only for 2 people, but as other people suggested I doubled the amount of dirty rice mix (so in my case I used 1 box of the mix). Even with making only 1/2 the recipe, I still had plenty of rice leftover--it will make great lunches along with the leftover cornbread. The changes I made included adding some green and yellow bell peppers, as well as 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I also doubled the amount of tomatoes with chilis, as I like tomatoes and spicy food. Also, since I am a vegetarian, I used meatfree "ground beef" & spicy "sausage" (I use Morningstar Farms, which tastes so much like the real thing that no one believes it is vegetarian and totally meat free!). This was really good, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used one pound ground beef and one pound hot pork sausage.I took this to a pot luck at work. Most of my co-works are from Lousiana, due to being so close to there. They are very picky when it comes to things claiming to be "Cajun" as most of them are. Here's a comparison, my heart sank when one of the LA co-works made home-made dirty rice. I figured mine would not be touched since it came from a 'box'. However, not true, this recipe was eaten up first before the original. However, I was informed true dirty rice uses chicken gizzards/liver. Not ground beef. But they loved it just the same. So I recommend this recipe. It's a good one! (I will leave out the tomatoes/green chili's next time - I just didn't like it and I did not add the beans either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Great addition to my pre-Mardi Gras party. I cooked it in a crock pot to finish the rice and it was terrific. The flavors were great and not to spicy for non-cajun eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was an awesome dish. My boyfriend always adds tabasco to everything I make, but for this dish there was no need. I used hot sausages and hot chilies with the tomatoes. Next time I may tone it down, since I started to break a sweat while eating it. But it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jourdanton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Great week-night dinner! Instead of 2 8-oz. boxes of rice mix, I used 1 12-oz. box. To cut down on fat content, I used 1 lb. of 96% lean ground beef & 1 lb. skinless chicken breast, chopped. When I browned the meat & onion, I seasoned w/ Emeril's Essence. I also used dark & light kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is soooooo good. We had a Fish Fry and I made this. Everyone raved about how good it was. I used Chicken Broth instead of water and the rice was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRSTLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
We loved this recipe, but had to make a couple of alterations. I used only 1 can of Kidney beans as that what all I had on hand. But, I am in agreeement with other viewers, one box of rice mix is not enough. It only makes dirty meat:)so i added another box and 2 more cups of water. Also I used Hot Pork Sausage in place of the beef sausage. It makes a whole lot and every one enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Used pork Italian sausage and red beans and topped it with cajun seasoning. Made a very tasty, filling dinner with enough leftovers for lunch the next two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States