Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I couldn't find beef sausage so I used pork sausage. It was great. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
not much different then the boxed mixture of dirty rice and jambalaya. good though, but something was missing. i made it with 2 boxes like others suggested, but was too much for my family of 4 so i froze more than half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used one pound ground beef and one pound hot pork sausage.I took this to a pot luck at work. Most of my co-works are from Lousiana, due to being so close to there. They are very picky when it comes to things claiming to be "Cajun" as most of them are. Here's a comparison, my heart sank when one of the LA co-works made home-made dirty rice. I figured mine would not be touched since it came from a 'box'. However, not true, this recipe was eaten up first before the original. However, I was informed true dirty rice uses chicken gizzards/liver. Not ground beef. But they loved it just the same. So I recommend this recipe. It's a good one! (I will leave out the tomatoes/green chili's next time - I just didn't like it and I did not add the beans either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I really loved this recipe! It was easy and delicious! I did follow others advice an used 2 boxes of dirty rice with 4 cups of water and it came out perfect. Instead of kidney beans, I used red beans. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe is so yummy! My family loves it and the only change I make is to add spicy sausage. Serve it with warm cornbread and you've got a wonderful meal for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe was not only easy to make, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The joke between my bf and me is if I can make dirty rice as good as Bojangles, I'll get a diamond! LOL! So, this didn't taste exactly like it, but it was very good! I used 2 Cajun dirty rice mix, 4 C water, no kidney beans and about 7 oz. of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers. I added a little garlic too. I used lean ground beef and regular pork sausage. I served this with Oven Fried Chicken from this sight. My bf and two of his friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
We loved this recipe, but had to make a couple of alterations. I used only 1 can of Kidney beans as that what all I had on hand. But, I am in agreeement with other viewers, one box of rice mix is not enough. It only makes dirty meat:)so i added another box and 2 more cups of water. Also I used Hot Pork Sausage in place of the beef sausage. It makes a whole lot and every one enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I made this recipe for my son's birthday party and it was a big hit. I followed the suggestions for this recipe and made an extra box of dirty rice mix, otherwise, it would've been too much ground beef and sausage. Even my mother-in-law liked it and asked for the recipe! She's never asked for a recipe from me in 13 years, so that alone tells you how good this rice is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Awesome! I used hot italian sausage and it give it quite a bit of fire. I was anticipating a LOT of leftovers but there was just enough for two small helpings the next day. ...sigh... Very good. Even the kids got seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States