Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Great week-night dinner! Instead of 2 8-oz. boxes of rice mix, I used 1 12-oz. box. To cut down on fat content, I used 1 lb. of 96% lean ground beef & 1 lb. skinless chicken breast, chopped. When I browned the meat & onion, I seasoned w/ Emeril's Essence. I also used dark & light kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I thought this was really good. I left out the hamburger altogether and used red beans but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy to throw together and just the right amount of spiciness. Do serve with buttered corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
A tip for those of you only cooking for 2, I recommend cutting this in half. I doubled the rice like everyone suggested and it was great but WAY too much food. I would suggest cutting everything in half (except the rice mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Loved it! I doubled the rice per other reviews and thought it was perfect. I almost halved the beans, but was glad I didn't. I was worried about the Rotel b/c I'm not a big tomato fan, but I couldn't even tell they were in there and the spiciness was perfect! It made enough to feed an army. Easily 8-10 servings. Great easy cajun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Great addition to my pre-Mardi Gras party. I cooked it in a crock pot to finish the rice and it was terrific. The flavors were great and not to spicy for non-cajun eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and the whole entire family loved it!!! They would like me to make it again for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is great because everyone likes it and it is an inexpensive way to feed a group. Just add a loaf of sourdough and you have a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
delicioso! added some bell peppers just for fun. will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Used pork Italian sausage and red beans and topped it with cajun seasoning. Made a very tasty, filling dinner with enough leftovers for lunch the next two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States