Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Big hit all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I would actually rate this a 3.5 star dish. It's red beans and rice meets dirty rice type of dish. I've made it several times (several different variations), and it's a quick, easy comfort food. When I make it I typically leave out the sausage because my husband isn't a big sausage person. I also only use one can of kidney beans. I have made this using rotel tomatos and using plan diced tomatos - learn from my experiments, don't use plan diced tomatos. The chili's make the dish. Other wise it's very bland. I know others have stated they double the rice. I never do this, and I have plenty of leftovers for several meals. Perhaps I don't need the extra rice because I don't use the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great easy recipe. I prefer hot spice so I added a few extra peppers and doused my plate with hot sause. Thanks! FW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwad

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy! I'd recommend the Louisiana Purchase brand of dirty rice. All natural, and no MSG! I did chicken broth instead of water, and one can of kidney beans was enough for us! Used half plain diced tomatoes and half diced tomatoes w/ chiles, since this was for the kids, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good stuff! I left out beans, added garlic powder, and used chicken broth instead of water. Then I used it, along with refried beans and grated cheese as buritto filler in flour tottillas. The diced tomatoes with green chilis, topped off with fresh salsa made great beef & bean burittos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. Only used one can of beans and I thought it was the right amount- not overwhelming! I did add some extra cajun seasoning, and used turkey smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and left out the sausage completely. This made just the right balance of meat and rice. I added lots of spices, as I eat my food very hot. This makes about 4 quarts, so I'll have leftovers for quite a while. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
we just had this for dinner, mmmmm! i served it with corn bread as suggested and I'm STUFFED! the only things i changed were i used 2 boxes of rice and used andouille sausage. very good and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fantastic! I love cooking southern/cajun food from scratch, but let's face it, many of us don't have time to spend creating lavish meals. This is a wonderfully easy weekday supper that we really enjoyed. I'll definitely keep this one handy. It's like a cross between red beans & rice & jambalaya. My only changes were to use chicken broth instead of water and a liberal sprinkling of cajun seasoning in place of the salt and pepper. I also used turkey sausage (smoked) instead of ground, I wasn't clear on which type the recipe called for. Absolutely serve with a side of cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States