Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
We loved this recipe, but had to make a couple of alterations. I used only 1 can of Kidney beans as that what all I had on hand. But, I am in agreeement with other viewers, one box of rice mix is not enough. It only makes dirty meat:)so i added another box and 2 more cups of water. Also I used Hot Pork Sausage in place of the beef sausage. It makes a whole lot and every one enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I made this recipe for my son's birthday party and it was a big hit. I followed the suggestions for this recipe and made an extra box of dirty rice mix, otherwise, it would've been too much ground beef and sausage. Even my mother-in-law liked it and asked for the recipe! She's never asked for a recipe from me in 13 years, so that alone tells you how good this rice is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Awesome! I used hot italian sausage and it give it quite a bit of fire. I was anticipating a LOT of leftovers but there was just enough for two small helpings the next day. ...sigh... Very good. Even the kids got seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Excellent Recipe. It makes a ton. Very good, I made mine without the green chiles and it was still very, very tasteful. Loved this One! Thank you Shari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Very good recipe...I made a few small changes. We did not add kidney beans and I used Spicy Hot breakfast sausage with the ground beef. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I used venison italian sausage, ground beef, and chopped up fresh roma tomatoes, then just added a can of green chilis. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This is not something I would normally have made, but we had a package of Zataran's Dirty Rice in our pantry that had been in there forever and I wanted to use it! For the meat, I used one pound of mild ground sausage and one pound of Hillshire Farm Light Smoked Sausage that I cut into slices. The addition of the smoked sausage made it more like a main dish. I served it with cornbread. My husband was so excited about this concoction because I rarely bring sausage into our house. He loved it! If you decide to make this, make sure you have a very very large pot on hand as this recipe fed us for 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I would give this 3 and a half stars if I could. I did make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 lb. hamburg and no sausage.Didn't have any and thought that it was plenty. I used Zataran's dirty rice and omitted onion since there was some in the Zataran's mix.( Family not big onion fans)and used 1 can black beans instead of 2 cans kidney beans. This makes alot! I used as a side dish along with Emeril's pulled bbq pork and some corn bread. It was an enjoyable meal. Thanks Shari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Easy, quick, and even my pickiest eater likes it. I spice it up by substituting chorizo for the beef sausage. Mmmm, just right! And absolutely do not forget the cornbread and a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was the best tasting dirty rice recipe ever. I served it with buttered cornbread and a little yellow cheese and my whole family loved it. My husband went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States