Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
It was ok....nothing great..i used two boxes of mix as well, it was a ton of rice! I might make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenisha Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
It was good. I used only 1/2 lb of ground bf and 1/2 lb pork sausage. I also omit the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIELADEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I love this recipe! I didn't have any beef sausage; so, I used pork sausage. Oh, and I didn't want to pay for the Cajun Rice mix. I had Chef Bromh...'s Cajun spices. I used 1 1/2 TBLS in the mixture. I was so good. We'll definitely be eating this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRACEHHOPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I couldn't find beef sausage so I used pork sausage. It was great. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
not much different then the boxed mixture of dirty rice and jambalaya. good though, but something was missing. i made it with 2 boxes like others suggested, but was too much for my family of 4 so i froze more than half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used one pound ground beef and one pound hot pork sausage.I took this to a pot luck at work. Most of my co-works are from Lousiana, due to being so close to there. They are very picky when it comes to things claiming to be "Cajun" as most of them are. Here's a comparison, my heart sank when one of the LA co-works made home-made dirty rice. I figured mine would not be touched since it came from a 'box'. However, not true, this recipe was eaten up first before the original. However, I was informed true dirty rice uses chicken gizzards/liver. Not ground beef. But they loved it just the same. So I recommend this recipe. It's a good one! (I will leave out the tomatoes/green chili's next time - I just didn't like it and I did not add the beans either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I really loved this recipe! It was easy and delicious! I did follow others advice an used 2 boxes of dirty rice with 4 cups of water and it came out perfect. Instead of kidney beans, I used red beans. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe is so yummy! My family loves it and the only change I make is to add spicy sausage. Serve it with warm cornbread and you've got a wonderful meal for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe was not only easy to make, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The joke between my bf and me is if I can make dirty rice as good as Bojangles, I'll get a diamond! LOL! So, this didn't taste exactly like it, but it was very good! I used 2 Cajun dirty rice mix, 4 C water, no kidney beans and about 7 oz. of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers. I added a little garlic too. I used lean ground beef and regular pork sausage. I served this with Oven Fried Chicken from this sight. My bf and two of his friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States