Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy! I'd recommend the Louisiana Purchase brand of dirty rice. All natural, and no MSG! I did chicken broth instead of water, and one can of kidney beans was enough for us! Used half plain diced tomatoes and half diced tomatoes w/ chiles, since this was for the kids, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good stuff! I left out beans, added garlic powder, and used chicken broth instead of water. Then I used it, along with refried beans and grated cheese as buritto filler in flour tottillas. The diced tomatoes with green chilis, topped off with fresh salsa made great beef & bean burittos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. Only used one can of beans and I thought it was the right amount- not overwhelming! I did add some extra cajun seasoning, and used turkey smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and left out the sausage completely. This made just the right balance of meat and rice. I added lots of spices, as I eat my food very hot. This makes about 4 quarts, so I'll have leftovers for quite a while. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
we just had this for dinner, mmmmm! i served it with corn bread as suggested and I'm STUFFED! the only things i changed were i used 2 boxes of rice and used andouille sausage. very good and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fantastic! I love cooking southern/cajun food from scratch, but let's face it, many of us don't have time to spend creating lavish meals. This is a wonderfully easy weekday supper that we really enjoyed. I'll definitely keep this one handy. It's like a cross between red beans & rice & jambalaya. My only changes were to use chicken broth instead of water and a liberal sprinkling of cajun seasoning in place of the salt and pepper. I also used turkey sausage (smoked) instead of ground, I wasn't clear on which type the recipe called for. Absolutely serve with a side of cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Ok, I really liked this recipe, as did my entire family. This was my first attempt at making dirty rice, so I was rather impressed with it! I changed up a few things though. Instead of Rotel, I used salsa. It did the job. I also used hamburger meat and chicken, instead of sausage. I didn't use a boxed seasoning mix, either. Instead, I used crushed red pepper flakes, creole seasoning, garlic, onio, and chili powders. Oh, and I only had one kind of red beans, so I used that, and I added some frozen corn. It was an awesome meal. Oh, and I made it with brown rice instead of white. I basically used what I had on hand, and the dish still turned out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty433

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Was a little disappointed in this recipe. Possibly could have been the boxed rice, but found it not to be very tasty. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My husband really liked this! We used andouille sausage instead of the beef sausage. Also, we used 2 boxes of dirty rice mix with 4 cups of water as suggested in previous reviews. We used green onions and a 14oz can of diced tomatoes(without the chiles). I personally am not a big fan of anything too spicy but I even think this dish has great flavor! We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States