Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy! I'd recommend the Louisiana Purchase brand of dirty rice. All natural, and no MSG! I did chicken broth instead of water, and one can of kidney beans was enough for us! Used half plain diced tomatoes and half diced tomatoes w/ chiles, since this was for the kids, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
good stuff! I left out beans, added garlic powder, and used chicken broth instead of water. Then I used it, along with refried beans and grated cheese as buritto filler in flour tottillas. The diced tomatoes with green chilis, topped off with fresh salsa made great beef & bean burittos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. Only used one can of beans and I thought it was the right amount- not overwhelming! I did add some extra cajun seasoning, and used turkey smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I substituted ground turkey for the beef and left out the sausage completely. This made just the right balance of meat and rice. I added lots of spices, as I eat my food very hot. This makes about 4 quarts, so I'll have leftovers for quite a while. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
we just had this for dinner, mmmmm! i served it with corn bread as suggested and I'm STUFFED! the only things i changed were i used 2 boxes of rice and used andouille sausage. very good and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Fantastic! I love cooking southern/cajun food from scratch, but let's face it, many of us don't have time to spend creating lavish meals. This is a wonderfully easy weekday supper that we really enjoyed. I'll definitely keep this one handy. It's like a cross between red beans & rice & jambalaya. My only changes were to use chicken broth instead of water and a liberal sprinkling of cajun seasoning in place of the salt and pepper. I also used turkey sausage (smoked) instead of ground, I wasn't clear on which type the recipe called for. Absolutely serve with a side of cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Ok, I really liked this recipe, as did my entire family. This was my first attempt at making dirty rice, so I was rather impressed with it! I changed up a few things though. Instead of Rotel, I used salsa. It did the job. I also used hamburger meat and chicken, instead of sausage. I didn't use a boxed seasoning mix, either. Instead, I used crushed red pepper flakes, creole seasoning, garlic, onio, and chili powders. Oh, and I only had one kind of red beans, so I used that, and I added some frozen corn. It was an awesome meal. Oh, and I made it with brown rice instead of white. I basically used what I had on hand, and the dish still turned out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty433

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Was a little disappointed in this recipe. Possibly could have been the boxed rice, but found it not to be very tasty. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My husband really liked this! We used andouille sausage instead of the beef sausage. Also, we used 2 boxes of dirty rice mix with 4 cups of water as suggested in previous reviews. We used green onions and a 14oz can of diced tomatoes(without the chiles). I personally am not a big fan of anything too spicy but I even think this dish has great flavor! We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States