Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Excellent Recipe. It makes a ton. Very good, I made mine without the green chiles and it was still very, very tasteful. Loved this One! Thank you Shari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Very good recipe...I made a few small changes. We did not add kidney beans and I used Spicy Hot breakfast sausage with the ground beef. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I used venison italian sausage, ground beef, and chopped up fresh roma tomatoes, then just added a can of green chilis. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This is not something I would normally have made, but we had a package of Zataran's Dirty Rice in our pantry that had been in there forever and I wanted to use it! For the meat, I used one pound of mild ground sausage and one pound of Hillshire Farm Light Smoked Sausage that I cut into slices. The addition of the smoked sausage made it more like a main dish. I served it with cornbread. My husband was so excited about this concoction because I rarely bring sausage into our house. He loved it! If you decide to make this, make sure you have a very very large pot on hand as this recipe fed us for 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I would give this 3 and a half stars if I could. I did make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 lb. hamburg and no sausage.Didn't have any and thought that it was plenty. I used Zataran's dirty rice and omitted onion since there was some in the Zataran's mix.( Family not big onion fans)and used 1 can black beans instead of 2 cans kidney beans. This makes alot! I used as a side dish along with Emeril's pulled bbq pork and some corn bread. It was an enjoyable meal. Thanks Shari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Easy, quick, and even my pickiest eater likes it. I spice it up by substituting chorizo for the beef sausage. Mmmm, just right! And absolutely do not forget the cornbread and a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was the best tasting dirty rice recipe ever. I served it with buttered cornbread and a little yellow cheese and my whole family loved it. My husband went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I would say this recipe was not bad but definitely only average. I used chicken and andouille sausage and added cajun seasoning because the original recipe was not spicy enough. Definitely try it if you are looking for a nice, simple dirty rice but if you're looking for the real thing, make it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
this is a excellent recipe. but to make it more spicy i added cayenne pepper and sage,and add andoulle cajun sausage and this will give it more the louisiana cajun flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Pretty good, but I made a lot of it! This will feed us for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States