Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The best dirty, red beans and rice we've ever had. We have a ton of deer sausage and ground meat left over from the hunting season, so I added both of those to the mixture. I just browned the ground meat, and sliced the sausage into pieces. It turned out to be a dirty, red beans and rice. It was fabulous and so easy to make! I wouldn't tell her, but I bet I could go head to head with my New Orleans grandmother with this recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaeherren
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used black beans because that's what I prefer. I cooked the meat and onion with garlic, cumin and cayenne. Also added parsley while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Tasted alright but 1 can of beans would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It taste quite good, although a little bland. I thickened it a little by adding okra and filè. Just a little cayenne, La Hot sauce, oregano, and 1 ground jalapeno rounded out the taste to make it actually taste cajun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe except for using a 12 oz box of dirty rice and we loved it!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I have made this several times now for different occasions. My whole family loves it, which is no small thing! It seems to reheat well if there are leftovers---I say "seems" because my children love it so much they fight over the leftovers and I have never actually had a chance to reheat and eat any for myself. Like other reviewers, I find that doubling the rice works very well for our taste. I also add sauted garlic and onions to the meat. I have used pork sausage(in addtion to the beef) but have found using mild Italian sausage to be the best combo for us. Some reviewers have critized that this is not truly "Dirty Rice"---maybe not, but it doesn't change the fact that it makes for some very good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was really good. This dish alone is a meal itself! Served with Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya, corn on the cob, and Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Wonderful...I did what others did....used two boxes of dirty rice and 4 cups of Chicken broth. I browned the hot pork sausage, cut up a lb of hot link sausage and dumped it all in the crockpot. Yes, it does smell weird when its cooking. After 4 hours.....great. Will make again. Dont add any extra salt....pretty salty. I did tweek it with some tabasco......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt B
Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This has awesome flavor, and it's quick and easy to make. The leftovers (if you have any) are even better. My husband took the leftovers to work and shared it with his buddies, and they all wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Great dish. I substituted a can of crushed tomatoes for the tomatoes with green chilies because I couldn't find them at my local grocery. It was lacking the spice from the chilies, however this was perfect for a group of kids who have picky tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States