Cajun Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My first Fried turkey. The flavor was great but I didn't expect the wings and most of the legs to be inedible. I'm a dark meat guy and so I had a thigh and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We tried this on the turkey we fried for Christmas - it was the best flavor yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was my first attempt at deep frying a turkey and I don't see how it can get any better. I just bought a 28qt. electric deep fryer and it recommended cooking at 400* though. Everything still came out perfect. I also added a little chipolte pepper and put on a cajun seasoning (mccoormick) rub on the skin and under the skin. I was asked to show up at my brothers house next week for a party he's throwing and do another one. Pretty cool for my first time. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Didn't try the recipe yet, just thought I'd add a note. To measure for the oil, place the turkey in the cooking basket and lower into the pot. Add enough water until it is one inch above the turkey. Remove the turkey and basket from the pot. Measure the water level from the top of the pot. This is the amount of oil you will need to use to fry your turkey. If your water level is above the recommended oil level marked on the pot, the turkey is too big and shouldn't be fryed. 12 lb or smaller turkey is recommended. This is less messy than measuring the turkey in the oil. Remember to thoroughly dry your turkey inside and out and dry the pot too. Never leave your pot unattended. Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Wonderful way to cook turkey. Don't go too cheap on the marinade injector.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Didnt get to deep fry it because no one brought me a fryer so I marinated for like 3 days then baked it in the oven it was so good it all feel off the bone it was excellent best turkey I ever had a lil spicy to some people but it was great even my kids ate it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatePuppysWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
wow a must to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great flavor! I will probably cut this recipe in half next year as I had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Want to try this but...where the heck do you find onion juice these days? I don't think I've seen that since the 70's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I usually purchase ready made injector but we have eliminated black pepper from our diet and reduced our salt, so I will be using this recipe from now on and just substitute white pepper. For those looking for garlic juice and onion juice, it can be found at most larger grocery stores, just ask where to find it. In addition to following another reviewers advice, I made only half which was enough for a 12 pound turkey. But I thought it would be too spicy with both hot sauce and cayenne, so I skipped the cayenne and it was perfect for adults and children alike. I found it needed some extras so I added a few shakes of nutmeg, 1 Tbsp of granulated onion and granulated garlic, 1 Tbsp of prepared mustard and 1 tsp of ground mustard, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp chipotle sauce. We got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States