Cajun Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used this recipe for a turkey I killed during turkey season and it was great! It was my first time ever frying a turkey and it turned out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is by far my fav recipe for holidays! I don't make anything else for thanksgiving and Christmas anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Perfect...Fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Best turkey I ever had, very juicy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Have used a very similar recipe for years. Some tips: to determine how much oil to use, place turkey in pot and cover with water. Remove the turkey and mark the water level; fill to this level with oil. Much less messy than submerging turkey in oil and removing. Also I have found that 3 1/2 minutes per pound is necessary due to fluctuation in the temp of the oil particularly with a gas fired fryer. Works best with 12-15 # birds. Hope there is no need to say this is to be done outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have fried well over one thousand turkeys since the eighties. It is a wonderful way to enjoy the bird, but it doesn't need to be so complicated. Oil heated to 350 F., 3 1/2 minutes per pound (the bird will float when it is nearly done). Peanut oil isn't necessary unless you plan on cooking a whole bunch of them. Nor is injecting anything. Take a THAWED turkey (remove neck/giblets - pat dry - water is NOT your friend), trim off any excessive skin or fat, shake salt and cayenne pepper all over the bird (for extra heat, cover the insides with cayenne as well. Drop slowly into the heated oil (upright)and keep everyone away while it cooks (you would be surprised how normally intelligent people would reach in to touch the bird while it is in HOT oil). I always like to cook 10 - 12 # birds. I used a gaff to lift the bird when it was done, let it cool before slicing it up. Always delicious. I used to have six cooking at once, as many as thirty birds a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
LOVE fried turkey. For Michael, I cut off the wings and legs and drop into the tub once the turkey is in. That way, you can remove when they are done. Hard to resist having a sample, though when they come out. Perks of being the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We've discovered frying turkeys in Austin, Texas ten years ago. When we came to the Florida Keys, we discovered Mojo Criollo, the Cuban marinade. Strain this and inject. It's soo much better than the commercial injectables! We spread a generous mixture of mustard, Tony Cachere's cajun seasoning and Worcestershire sauce between the body and the skin and let the turkey sit overnight. I agree, measuring the amount of oil needed by immersing in water rather than oil is much more economical. Just make sure it's dry before lowering it into the hot oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
From all the horror stories I've heard about burning down houses and the severe burns from this deep frying technique that's a good idea of measuring by placing the bird in the fryer first and put enough water in to cover the bird by at least an inch and then remove it and mark or measure from the top so you don't over fill with oil, one of the biggest mistakes made with this style of cooking. To be on the safe side I would place the turkey in an oven at 200*-250* for 15-20 minutes to preheat and dry the bird out before lowering it in the super hot oil. I would even put on a rain coat and use rubber gloves and a clear full face shield to protect your face when lowering the bird in the cooker. Not only attend the frying often don't under any circumstances fire this cooker up anywhere near your house or even under a tree, keep it out in the middle of your driveway so even grass couldn't catch fire. I know this a lot of precautions but better safe than sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
great recipe! we use water to get the depth of oil we need and mark the side of the pot. Using oil to measure and having to remove the bird...makes it too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States