Cajun Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Have used a very similar recipe for years. Some tips: to determine how much oil to use, place turkey in pot and cover with water. Remove the turkey and mark the water level; fill to this level with oil. Much less messy than submerging turkey in oil and removing. Also I have found that 3 1/2 minutes per pound is necessary due to fluctuation in the temp of the oil particularly with a gas fired fryer. Works best with 12-15 # birds. Hope there is no need to say this is to be done outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Wonderful way to cook turkey. Don't go too cheap on the marinade injector.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
wow a must to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was my first attempt at deep frying a turkey and I don't see how it can get any better. I just bought a 28qt. electric deep fryer and it recommended cooking at 400* though. Everything still came out perfect. I also added a little chipolte pepper and put on a cajun seasoning (mccoormick) rub on the skin and under the skin. I was asked to show up at my brothers house next week for a party he's throwing and do another one. Pretty cool for my first time. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Didn't try the recipe yet, just thought I'd add a note. To measure for the oil, place the turkey in the cooking basket and lower into the pot. Add enough water until it is one inch above the turkey. Remove the turkey and basket from the pot. Measure the water level from the top of the pot. This is the amount of oil you will need to use to fry your turkey. If your water level is above the recommended oil level marked on the pot, the turkey is too big and shouldn't be fryed. 12 lb or smaller turkey is recommended. This is less messy than measuring the turkey in the oil. Remember to thoroughly dry your turkey inside and out and dry the pot too. Never leave your pot unattended. Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Goodchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Didnt get to deep fry it because no one brought me a fryer so I marinated for like 3 days then baked it in the oven it was so good it all feel off the bone it was excellent best turkey I ever had a lil spicy to some people but it was great even my kids ate it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatePuppysWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great flavor! I will probably cut this recipe in half next year as I had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Want to try this but...where the heck do you find onion juice these days? I don't think I've seen that since the 70's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I usually purchase ready made injector but we have eliminated black pepper from our diet and reduced our salt, so I will be using this recipe from now on and just substitute white pepper. For those looking for garlic juice and onion juice, it can be found at most larger grocery stores, just ask where to find it. In addition to following another reviewers advice, I made only half which was enough for a 12 pound turkey. But I thought it would be too spicy with both hot sauce and cayenne, so I skipped the cayenne and it was perfect for adults and children alike. I found it needed some extras so I added a few shakes of nutmeg, 1 Tbsp of granulated onion and granulated garlic, 1 Tbsp of prepared mustard and 1 tsp of ground mustard, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp chipotle sauce. We got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have fried well over one thousand turkeys since the eighties. It is a wonderful way to enjoy the bird, but it doesn't need to be so complicated. Oil heated to 350 F., 3 1/2 minutes per pound (the bird will float when it is nearly done). Peanut oil isn't necessary unless you plan on cooking a whole bunch of them. Nor is injecting anything. Take a THAWED turkey (remove neck/giblets - pat dry - water is NOT your friend), trim off any excessive skin or fat, shake salt and cayenne pepper all over the bird (for extra heat, cover the insides with cayenne as well. Drop slowly into the heated oil (upright)and keep everyone away while it cooks (you would be surprised how normally intelligent people would reach in to touch the bird while it is in HOT oil). I always like to cook 10 - 12 # birds. I used a gaff to lift the bird when it was done, let it cool before slicing it up. Always delicious. I used to have six cooking at once, as many as thirty birds a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States