Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I'd been looking for an etouffe recipe I could satisfactorily adapt to vegetarian cooking for quite some time. The vegetables and seasonings in this recipe fit the bill perfectly-- I used a vegetarian "chicken-style" broth instead of fish stock and added 8 oz. diced tempeh (instead of the crawfish and shrimp) when it was time to add the tomatoes and the stock. I followed everything else exactly as written. We love hot and spicy recipes and my husband has greedily devoured this the two times I've made it so far. Even with the time it takes to make the roux, the ingredients are quickly prepared and this recipe is really quite simple to make. This was easily adapted to our specific dietary needs and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and it was a huge hit. I subbed butter for half of the oil, other than that followed the recipe exactly. For those havung trouble finding crawfish, they now sell them at walmart in the frozen fish section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
So delicious. This tastes exactly like etouffe that would be in a New Orleans upscale restaurant. Very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Absolutely Fantastic. I served this for a party that I had, doubled the recipe, served over rice and fed well over 25 people. Not a drop left at the end of the night. My friends keep asking when Im going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe!! The other etouffees on this site that call for cornstarch are just not authentic. Almost everything in LA starts with a roux, and the end result is well worth it! Don't be afraid to try - all you have to do is stir constantly (I use a whisk) for 15 minutes, and the scary part is over. If you don't have crawfish, use all shrimp. Throw in some cooked chicken if you want...it is soooo good. FYI - I didn't use cayenne or hot sauce, but put in 2T of Old Bay. Perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I made this twice.First time excactly the way it was suggested.Second time with double the amount of shrimp.One word.MAGNIFICIENT!!!!!!One of my very favorite recipes.Thanks sooooooo much Rhonda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Delicious recipe! I had not successfully made roux before. I'd always been paranoid about burning it, but I went ahead and cooked on medium, stirring constantly w/ spatula, for 20 minutes, and it browned up perfectly! I think burning must be such a problem, because people walk off and leave it cooking. Used 1 can stewed tomatoes w/ onions & peppers. Also, I used only crawfish and boiled up the shells for fish stock. The crawfish had already been seasoned, so I just threw a little of Tony Chachere's creole seasoning in at the last. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marygrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
this is absolutely perfect! my family and I loved it! I felt like the roux was looser than I am used to working with--but I think that is smart because it seemed less likely to burn. Next time I will probably use a bit less seafood seasoning, because it was just a bit on the too spicy side for my son--but with rice and french bread he ate it fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sapphire
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I ask my husband to rate the meals I cook for him so I know what to cook again. Usually I get 8-10. This is the first time he rated my cooking an 11. This recipe was just wonderful. I followed it almost exactly except I subbed butter for oil and used more hot sauce in addition to the cayenne. I served it with honey cornbread (another recipe from allrecipes.com). If you like seafood and you like it hot, this is the recipe for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States