Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
A simply beautiful dish. Fun to prepare, beautiful presentation, and delicious. I'm a little concerned by some comments calling the preparation intimidating or a lot of work. It's not, but unfortunately this might dissuade others from trying it. I used butter rather than oil, all shrimp, clam juice for the fish stock, and no cayenne (hubby has sensitive innards). Even without the cayenne, it was still too hot for hubby, so he was unable to eat it. So just a warning--this is hot and spicy. If you're not sure about the level of heat, add less hot sauce to start--you can always add more, but can't take it away once it's in there! Oh--throw in a little chopped fresh parsley just before serving...the little punch of color really is pretty and brightens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe!! The other etouffees on this site that call for cornstarch are just not authentic. Almost everything in LA starts with a roux, and the end result is well worth it! Don't be afraid to try - all you have to do is stir constantly (I use a whisk) for 15 minutes, and the scary part is over. If you don't have crawfish, use all shrimp. Throw in some cooked chicken if you want...it is soooo good. FYI - I didn't use cayenne or hot sauce, but put in 2T of Old Bay. Perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very good recipe. I was born and raised in Louisiana and this is EXACTLY how they fixed it back home. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The first time I made this, I got so excited because the sauce after I added the tomatoes and fish stock was to die for. I used boxed fish stock and it was amazing, I added some frozen crawfish meat and shrimp and the frozen crawfish meat ruined it. I was sooo disappointed. The second time I made this, I used clam juice with some fish sauce (used in oriental cooking) and omitted the crawfish meat (since it is hard to get fresh stuff where I live) and added diced chicken and it was again amazing. I usually like to play with the recipe a little but there is no need to with this one. It has become a new family favorite and I actually enjoy making the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Sorry to say that crawdads are out of season for me and I don't go frozen so I doubled up on the shrimp. All I can say is dis iz da BOMB !!!!!!! It was so good I had to make up carry outs for everybody else. All that was left was the dishes. This will definitely be served at our Mardi Gras party. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Excellent! I am from New Orleans and my husband has cooked etoufee in the past, but I wanted to try my hand at it. All I can say is WOW! Super Flavor! I substituted chicken broth for the fish stock since I already had it on hand. Only thing I would do different is cut back on the spicy factors I would half the seafood seasoning and eliminate the cayenne. I used Crystal Hot sauce and it was great. Thanks again for a real winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe was very good. Very tasty!! It's very spicy. So, if you don't like your food too hot, you may want to cut back and use a little less cayenne pepper, black pepper, and hot sauce. Some recipes call for "corn starch." But I found the roux is much better - more flavorful. Roux can be tricky - take your time, don't set the heat/fire too high (you definitely don't want it to burn). Roux is worth the work. Also, I had never heard of "fish stock (soup)." But I found it at an Asian store named Seafood City. I found it in boullion cubes brand named "Knorr." Surprisingly they had fish flavor and shrimp flavor. I think the fish stock along with the roux really added to the flavor. I did not use the shrimp - I used all crawfish. Shrimp and crawfish each have there own flavor. I'll make the next batch with the shrimp. Try it. It's delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I'd been looking for an etouffe recipe I could satisfactorily adapt to vegetarian cooking for quite some time. The vegetables and seasonings in this recipe fit the bill perfectly-- I used a vegetarian "chicken-style" broth instead of fish stock and added 8 oz. diced tempeh (instead of the crawfish and shrimp) when it was time to add the tomatoes and the stock. I followed everything else exactly as written. We love hot and spicy recipes and my husband has greedily devoured this the two times I've made it so far. Even with the time it takes to make the roux, the ingredients are quickly prepared and this recipe is really quite simple to make. This was easily adapted to our specific dietary needs and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The only thing I did was add some fresh okra with the other vegetables. Perfect etouffe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and it was a huge hit. I subbed butter for half of the oil, other than that followed the recipe exactly. For those havung trouble finding crawfish, they now sell them at walmart in the frozen fish section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States