Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Perfect! I grew up in New ORleans and this IS what my momma made well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very good recipe. I was born and raised in Louisiana and this is EXACTLY how they fixed it back home. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Well.........I didnt grow up in La. and my mama never made it but I think its awesome! lol. I love most anything cajun and this one is great. Thanks very much. The only thing I thought it lacked was cayenne.....1/3 tsp?! Had to add more and some crushed red pepper as well. It was awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was really good! Both of my parents are on low carb diets so I didn't put it over rice, but that would have been good! I just used shrimp and no crawfish because it would have been too hard to find. It didn't really taste like our favorite Cajun restaurant's etouffe, but it was still very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEWIS13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marissa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I did not have any crawfish so I doubled the shrimp. And somehow I forgot to put the tomatoes in, I was busy cooking biscuits and forgot. It still turned really good, except it was alittle watery. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stegall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
So delicious. This tastes exactly like etouffe that would be in a New Orleans upscale restaurant. Very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and it was a huge hit. I subbed butter for half of the oil, other than that followed the recipe exactly. For those havung trouble finding crawfish, they now sell them at walmart in the frozen fish section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Absolutely Fantastic. I served this for a party that I had, doubled the recipe, served over rice and fed well over 25 people. Not a drop left at the end of the night. My friends keep asking when Im going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I'd been looking for an etouffe recipe I could satisfactorily adapt to vegetarian cooking for quite some time. The vegetables and seasonings in this recipe fit the bill perfectly-- I used a vegetarian "chicken-style" broth instead of fish stock and added 8 oz. diced tempeh (instead of the crawfish and shrimp) when it was time to add the tomatoes and the stock. I followed everything else exactly as written. We love hot and spicy recipes and my husband has greedily devoured this the two times I've made it so far. Even with the time it takes to make the roux, the ingredients are quickly prepared and this recipe is really quite simple to make. This was easily adapted to our specific dietary needs and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a GREAT recipe!! The other etouffees on this site that call for cornstarch are just not authentic. Almost everything in LA starts with a roux, and the end result is well worth it! Don't be afraid to try - all you have to do is stir constantly (I use a whisk) for 15 minutes, and the scary part is over. If you don't have crawfish, use all shrimp. Throw in some cooked chicken if you want...it is soooo good. FYI - I didn't use cayenne or hot sauce, but put in 2T of Old Bay. Perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deweyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kennedale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States