Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Have never made anything remotely like this before, but had some fresh shrimp so thought I would give it a try. All I can say is WOW! Used butter in place of oil and used 1/2 of called for amount of hot sauce/cayenne. Will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
First étouffée my husband liked. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
First time I made an etouffe and my hubby & I LOVED it! Didn't have fish stock & couldn't buy it from our local market, so I used chicken broth instead & it was FABULOUS! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was one of the best things I have ever eaten!! My whole family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe and quite simple to make. It just requires a little patience. Here are the changes I made: used chicken stock instead of fish sauce, did not use crawfish but substituted some breast of chicken cut up into small pieces. The ratio was about two-thirds shrimp and one-third chicken. Included all the veggies in the recipe but also added a few mushrooms and some green onions. Used about half a teaspoon of very hot pepper flakes in addition to the hot sauce because we like it spicy. The end result was awesome. It took me a total of about 45 minutes including prep time. The only part that requires care is the preparation of the "roux" - just do it under medium heat taking time to stir it constantly. It reached the medium brown color in about 12 minutes. I did use more veggies than the recipe called for which meant that I had to add a little chicken stock when cooking the veggies after adding it to the roux. Added the chicken pieces at the same time that I added the veggies since the chicken takes more time than the shrimp to cook. Anyway, a first rate recipe ...... and the time it takes is well worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe on its own and easy to modify. Last time I left out green peppers and celery (didn't have 'em) and substituted 1 can of chopped tomatoes and green chilies (again, its what I had). Dish was still terrific and gone in no time. Best advice, don't skip on the roux. Do it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm not understanding the comments about it being a lot of work either. I actually thought there were wasn't an overwhelming number of ingredients. I used oil, but will try with butter next time as naples34102 used. Also, I used 1/2 the recommended amount of hot-sauce and it had just the right kick. I did all shrimp and used shrimp bouillon instead of fish stock. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Really, really good. For those of you concerned with how "spicy" this dish is, it's really based on interpretation. Some people said it was too spicy. I don't think it's spicy at all, and I added the cayenne. It just depends on your tolerance level. Overall, yummy and quite healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this last night following the directions except for substituting freshly cooked diced chicken breast for the shrimp and crawfish (also chicken stock for the shrimp/fish stock). Most of my crew doesn't like seafood, so I made a landlubber version for them. In short, this recipe is excellent. The only things I will do different in my next effort will be to add about 1/2 again as much stock, and cook the etouffe longer, to let the crispy veg get a little softer. Flavorwise, it was right on... but the still crunchy texture of the peppers and celery were a distraction. Also, the only other change I made was to use 1/4 cup unsalted butter in lieu of the veg oil, as I never use oil in a roux. I've always just felt butter gives it a little bit more flavor. All that being said, this recipe is definitely a keeper. I'm already thinking of doing some catfish etouffe based on this. THANKS for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe. I used only 1 tbsp of the hot sauce because tasted too strong of vinegar for my taste. I then added more cayenne and creole seasoning to add back heat. I added a little heavy cream to taste and a bay leaf. Good basic recipe. Serve with rice or crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States