Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
VERY VERY good. I substitute a can of Rotel tomatoes for the fresh tomatoes, you can get the seafood stock at Kroger's and I use one tablespoon of "Old Bay" and one of Tony Chacheres cajun seasoning......I also occasionally add a filet of Salmon during the simmering process and it cooks by the time the crawdaddies and shrimp are done........Tommy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Have never made anything remotely like this before, but had some fresh shrimp so thought I would give it a try. All I can say is WOW! Used butter in place of oil and used 1/2 of called for amount of hot sauce/cayenne. Will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
First étouffée my husband liked. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
First time I made an etouffe and my hubby & I LOVED it! Didn't have fish stock & couldn't buy it from our local market, so I used chicken broth instead & it was FABULOUS! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was one of the best things I have ever eaten!! My whole family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe and quite simple to make. It just requires a little patience. Here are the changes I made: used chicken stock instead of fish sauce, did not use crawfish but substituted some breast of chicken cut up into small pieces. The ratio was about two-thirds shrimp and one-third chicken. Included all the veggies in the recipe but also added a few mushrooms and some green onions. Used about half a teaspoon of very hot pepper flakes in addition to the hot sauce because we like it spicy. The end result was awesome. It took me a total of about 45 minutes including prep time. The only part that requires care is the preparation of the "roux" - just do it under medium heat taking time to stir it constantly. It reached the medium brown color in about 12 minutes. I did use more veggies than the recipe called for which meant that I had to add a little chicken stock when cooking the veggies after adding it to the roux. Added the chicken pieces at the same time that I added the veggies since the chicken takes more time than the shrimp to cook. Anyway, a first rate recipe ...... and the time it takes is well worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe on its own and easy to modify. Last time I left out green peppers and celery (didn't have 'em) and substituted 1 can of chopped tomatoes and green chilies (again, its what I had). Dish was still terrific and gone in no time. Best advice, don't skip on the roux. Do it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm not understanding the comments about it being a lot of work either. I actually thought there were wasn't an overwhelming number of ingredients. I used oil, but will try with butter next time as naples34102 used. Also, I used 1/2 the recommended amount of hot-sauce and it had just the right kick. I did all shrimp and used shrimp bouillon instead of fish stock. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Really, really good. For those of you concerned with how "spicy" this dish is, it's really based on interpretation. Some people said it was too spicy. I don't think it's spicy at all, and I added the cayenne. It just depends on your tolerance level. Overall, yummy and quite healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this last night following the directions except for substituting freshly cooked diced chicken breast for the shrimp and crawfish (also chicken stock for the shrimp/fish stock). Most of my crew doesn't like seafood, so I made a landlubber version for them. In short, this recipe is excellent. The only things I will do different in my next effort will be to add about 1/2 again as much stock, and cook the etouffe longer, to let the crispy veg get a little softer. Flavorwise, it was right on... but the still crunchy texture of the peppers and celery were a distraction. Also, the only other change I made was to use 1/4 cup unsalted butter in lieu of the veg oil, as I never use oil in a roux. I've always just felt butter gives it a little bit more flavor. All that being said, this recipe is definitely a keeper. I'm already thinking of doing some catfish etouffe based on this. THANKS for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States