Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Really, really good. For those of you concerned with how "spicy" this dish is, it's really based on interpretation. Some people said it was too spicy. I don't think it's spicy at all, and I added the cayenne. It just depends on your tolerance level. Overall, yummy and quite healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this last night following the directions except for substituting freshly cooked diced chicken breast for the shrimp and crawfish (also chicken stock for the shrimp/fish stock). Most of my crew doesn't like seafood, so I made a landlubber version for them. In short, this recipe is excellent. The only things I will do different in my next effort will be to add about 1/2 again as much stock, and cook the etouffe longer, to let the crispy veg get a little softer. Flavorwise, it was right on... but the still crunchy texture of the peppers and celery were a distraction. Also, the only other change I made was to use 1/4 cup unsalted butter in lieu of the veg oil, as I never use oil in a roux. I've always just felt butter gives it a little bit more flavor. All that being said, this recipe is definitely a keeper. I'm already thinking of doing some catfish etouffe based on this. THANKS for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe. I used only 1 tbsp of the hot sauce because tasted too strong of vinegar for my taste. I then added more cayenne and creole seasoning to add back heat. I added a little heavy cream to taste and a bay leaf. Good basic recipe. Serve with rice or crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was good, but not like what I've had in the past. I enjoyed the taste very much, but the texture was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I only used shrimp and veggie broth because that's all I had. Really nice flavor - definitely want to add the spice as you go - I only used about half of what was called for. Served it over white rice with hush puppies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is my first time making this dish, and I have to say it is pretty good. I would have ranked this 3 1/2 stars but, that is not a option. I cut down the cayenne and hot sauce by half and that was good for me. I love spicy food, but thats a lot of heat. Thanks for the recipe, overall it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This was my very first roux recipe, and I'm very happy to say it came out fabulous! Thank you for sharing! This recipe is so simple and packed with flavor. I have to admit I thought it would be boring but sooo glad I made this. The only thing I would try to change next time would be the amount of oil used to make the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
this is as close as you can get to the real thing. I added unsalted butter in the roux...one tbsp. I also used chicken stock. I used a few sprinkles of tabasco sauce because I didn't have any hot sauce. Perfectly spiced. This was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
this recipe was very good i sauted the shrimp and crawfish in a another pan with butter and old bay and cerole seasoning than added it with the other ingredients.this was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Roux: 1/3 cup veg oil, 1/3 cup flour. no need for butter. mix and cook on very low heat, stirring now and then until flour is cooked to darker than cafe late color. at the same time chop vegetables. Fish Stock: boil 3 cups water with the shrimp shells + some garlic + Cajun seasoning salt - presto, great fish stock! remove solids and use all of resulting stock. Shirmp: if using very large shrimp, chop into two or three pieces. makes it easier to eat. Hot Sauce and Cayenne: don't really need the cayenne. add hot sauce a little at a time checking the level of spicyness. Seasoning: Cajun seasoning also works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States