Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Tried this recipe last night! It was awesome! I will make it again! My husband loved it! I made it exactly like the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Awesome dish!! Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Southon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC! Made it for The Hubbs (a Cajun food fanatic) and he absolutely loved it. Like most, I used shrimp (about 2 lbs or approx 6 dozen large) and made shrimp stock using the shells (with celery, onion, carrot, bay leaf, thyme, a touch of garlic, S&P - start with 3.5 qts water and reduce to 1/5-2 qts). I also used 1.5 sticks unsalted butter with about 1 to 1.5 c flour to make my blond roux. I used the 2 tbs Old Bay, 2 tsp home-made blackening seasoning, and 2 tbs Franks Hot Sauce (would have used Lousiana but used the remainder up last week on eggs!). All-in-all, it was not too hot/spicy, but left a nice low "burn" after swallowing. Up front, it's just all flavor. I must say, this is a definite keeper. We'll be making it with fresh crawfish after our next fishing trip. Don't ruin it with using frozen, peeps. If you can't get fresh, use shrimp. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by penny
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday as a surprise since its a favorite of his. He raved on and on about it ,that it was better than the pricey restaurants version. And NO it's not difficult to make at all! A bit spicy for me,but easily corrected. We had it over mashed potatoes (!) since that was also a favorite side of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this last week with crawfish and this week with shrimp and its delicious both times! I omitted the fish stock both times and used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. Sooooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious! Can't wait to make this again! Couldnt find fish stock so I had to use chicken instead and it takes awhile to de vein all those little shrimp but it was well worth the effort! I had my 13 yr old son help me chop, mince and dice to keep things moving along.... it was fun to cook with him and we will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious and not difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious Cajun creole dish! My mother just loves it! I use all shrimp when crawfish is not in season and it is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good, but I need to play with it to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delish! I didn't use as much Cayenne pepper. For my spice blend I used Old Bay blackened and Tony Chacheres creole seasoning 50/50, about 3-4tsp total. I couldn't get my hands on fresh crawfish here in NC, so I used 16 ct Gulf shrimp... this is just soooo good and I've never had authentic etouffe before, but I'm sure this is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States