Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Used only wild gulf shrimp and added red bell pepper. The seafood seasoning made it a bit too salty for my taste. Watched the video & instructions were easy. Served over rice with collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is REALLY GOOD. My entire family (children included) loved it and did not leave any in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My boyfriend seems to really like this recipe, but I think it's just okay. For the effort it takes to make it, I expected something more. The shrimp etouffe is yummy, but making the roux takes a bit of time. This dish goes great with rice because of the roux. We've made if a few times and have always used just shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this!! Easy to make but I personally like extra "sauce" so next time i will probably double the amount of fish stock. Otherwise this was sure a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
So delicious. Where I live, all seafood is found in the freezer section, but it was still to die for. I was afraid the crawfish might overpower the dish after it was in the fridge for a day, but the left overs are just as good as fresh. I left out the hot sauce and just let everyone add however much the wanted. And I added a lot of salt after plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Used half EVOO and half butter first time and burnt the roux. My fault. Used half butter and veggie oil second time and was perfect. Added back fin crab meat (blue crab) because didn't have enough crawfish. Subbed Vegetable stock for fish because hubby allergic. Was delicious. Served with 12 splashes of hot sauce, plus more at table. Perfect heat/flavor balance. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy, P&C Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Tried this recipe last night! It was awesome! I will make it again! My husband loved it! I made it exactly like the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Awesome dish!! Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Southon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC! Made it for The Hubbs (a Cajun food fanatic) and he absolutely loved it. Like most, I used shrimp (about 2 lbs or approx 6 dozen large) and made shrimp stock using the shells (with celery, onion, carrot, bay leaf, thyme, a touch of garlic, S&P - start with 3.5 qts water and reduce to 1/5-2 qts). I also used 1.5 sticks unsalted butter with about 1 to 1.5 c flour to make my blond roux. I used the 2 tbs Old Bay, 2 tsp home-made blackening seasoning, and 2 tbs Franks Hot Sauce (would have used Lousiana but used the remainder up last week on eggs!). All-in-all, it was not too hot/spicy, but left a nice low "burn" after swallowing. Up front, it's just all flavor. I must say, this is a definite keeper. We'll be making it with fresh crawfish after our next fishing trip. Don't ruin it with using frozen, peeps. If you can't get fresh, use shrimp. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by penny
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday as a surprise since its a favorite of his. He raved on and on about it ,that it was better than the pricey restaurants version. And NO it's not difficult to make at all! A bit spicy for me,but easily corrected. We had it over mashed potatoes (!) since that was also a favorite side of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States