Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by penny
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday as a surprise since its a favorite of his. He raved on and on about it ,that it was better than the pricey restaurants version. And NO it's not difficult to make at all! A bit spicy for me,but easily corrected. We had it over mashed potatoes (!) since that was also a favorite side of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this last week with crawfish and this week with shrimp and its delicious both times! I omitted the fish stock both times and used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. Sooooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious! Can't wait to make this again! Couldnt find fish stock so I had to use chicken instead and it takes awhile to de vein all those little shrimp but it was well worth the effort! I had my 13 yr old son help me chop, mince and dice to keep things moving along.... it was fun to cook with him and we will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lezleena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious and not difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious Cajun creole dish! My mother just loves it! I use all shrimp when crawfish is not in season and it is still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerInTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good, but I need to play with it to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delish! I didn't use as much Cayenne pepper. For my spice blend I used Old Bay blackened and Tony Chacheres creole seasoning 50/50, about 3-4tsp total. I couldn't get my hands on fresh crawfish here in NC, so I used 16 ct Gulf shrimp... this is just soooo good and I've never had authentic etouffe before, but I'm sure this is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I like spicy, but this is too hot -- I'm from New Orleans, and I've never quite understood why some cooks don't allow the diner to control the heat -- you can always add LA hot sauce. The mix of other seasonings is just right, and I used clam sauce as another reviewer suggested -- excellent. Easy roux making tip -- use your microwave -- it works great and you don't have to stir it. You can just search "making a roux in the microwave".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Super recipe. I only used the seafood seasoning. No cayenne, hot sauce or black pepper. It had a nice bite and I served with a buttermilk cornbread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I didn't have fish stock so I used chicken stock in stead. I also didn't have any crawfish so I used double the shrimp. I doubled the recipe but only used 3 tablespoons of hot sauce. Still very spicy but very delicious. Everyone had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States