Cajun Crabmeat Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was very good. Due to other reviews I did cut back on the salt but it was still too salty. I'm drinking water like crazy. I used skim milk rather than the cream with no noticeable difference to consistency. I cut back on the cayenne but would cut it back a bit further. I don't use American cheese in my cooking - I used all cheddar. Sounds like a lot of changes to justify 4 stars but we really enjoyed it all the same. We'd just enjoy it more so with the amendments - and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Terrific Dennis. I loved your casserole. Was looking for as special crab au gratin and I think I have found it. For those of you who are complaining about the saltiness...check the "stuff" you are using that you believe (erroneously) is "American Cheese". It probably is "American Cheese Product" or "American Cheese Food". Whatever Cheese Product or Cheese Food is, it ain't American Cheese. It is a very salty imitation food substance that is not even considered food at all. It probably has a brand name on the label, and you thought it was a real cheese. Use real american cheese. It is not salty and will not add salt to your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My five-star rating has to be qualified: I'm giving this recipe five stars AS A DIP, not an entree. It is far too rich to eat a serving as a main course! But that's not a complaint; it's delicious! It was a huge hit and we'll have it again. My alterations were as follows: increased the creole seasoning to 1 1/2 tsps, reduced salt to 1/2 tsp, used all sharp cheddar and baked most of the green onions in the dish, reserving a smaller amount for the topping. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is the second time I made this dish (first time was about two years ago) and it's as great as I remembered it. Very rich and delicious. I don't like American cheese so I used 1 cup of Cheddar in the dish and one cup on top after baking. I may add the green onions in the mix next time or leave them off. I felt they subtracted from the overall excellence of the casserole. Will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Yum to the max. I don't eat american cheese, so it was replaced with white cheddar & colby. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Not good. Not your traditional Crabmeat Au Gratin. I am a native of New Orleans and trust me, this does not come close. I'm only giving it a star because the system is forcing me to, but it is not desrving of a star. Don't waste your time or your crab meat. Sorry if this sounds cold, but I'm only being honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
As a New Orleanian there is NO WAY I could use American cheese! lol (sorry recipe writer). I used all sharp cheddar and extra cayenne to spice it up. I also baked it WITH the green onion instead of adding it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The only thing I didn't like is that it was a little too quiche-like. Don't get me wrong though, it was absolutely delicious...I was just hoping for something creamier like the one they serve at Ralph and Kacoo's in New Orleans. Next time I will omit the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
WOW! New Orleans is one of my favorite US cities. We felt like we were there. I made the recipe exactly as shown. It was perfect! It was a very nice treat from our normal healthy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Delicious! The recipe was very easy to follow. I split the mixture in half prior to baking and froze one half. I popped the frozen portion in last night at 350 for 40 minutes and it turned out delicious the second time around as well. I did use all American cheese (Bon Ton crab au gratin was my inspiration) and added a little sherry prior to adding the cream mixture. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States