Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Very, very good and easy! I made a few adjustments. Instead of clam juice, I used Better than Bouillon clam base and water(hard to find, but fabulous). Then I skipped the salt. I whisked in a brick of low-fat cream cheese (softened, in pieces) just after the first boil. I skipped the cream and added milk instead. I added the cayenne bit by bit, and tasted after each addition. My husband ate two big bowls. I had one, he's taking a bowl to work today and tomorrow--that's all we have left! Fabulous! I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is one for the Hall of Fame! I can't imagine doing anything to make it better. Obviously, those that prefer more of a kick should add more cayenne pepper after tasting. For me, the kick was perfect; just enough to to let one know that it's "there," but not so strong as to be overwhelming. For those that might not be familiar with this style soup, it is similar to clam chowder--but with nuance of it's own. Five stars if ever there was a five-star soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Delicious! Because I prefer items to just be mildly spiced, I only used 1/8 tsp. of cayenne, which was just mildly tangy and much to my liking compared to a spicier soup. I also reduced the salt by half. Very easy to make. I had several bowls at one sitting because it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent and memorable. Hubs preferred I sub celery for the white corn and it proved to be a surprisingly delicious substitute. Also, rather than the cayenne, white pepper and thyme, I simply used a Cajun seasoning to taste. I used pasteurized, lump crab meat. This comes together quickly, uses simple ingredients and really delivers - this is a rich, velvety smooth, creamy and distinctly seafood flavored soup, decadently delicious with big chunks of crab. Exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Served this last night for a dinner party and everybody thought I'd slaved all day...definitely the hit of the party. I made it exactly as instructed and everything turned out great! Definitely a keeper for my recipe box. As I was making this for the party and had lots of other food prep work to do, I took this recipe through step 1 several hours ahead of time, transfering the simmered mixture to a slow cooker on low to keep it hot. Added the crab meat, onions and cream just before the guests arrived. Couldn't be happier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe made me a big star! I followed the recipe to the letter and was very happy with the results. It is a very rich, gourmet tasting soup. I served it with bread and salad. I used 2 different kinds of lump crab meat - a cheaper brand and a more expensive brand. My advice? Definitely spring for the more expensive crab because it's firmer and fresher...you CAN taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This soup was very good, with just the right amount of spice. My only complaint is that it was a little TOO rich and I think next time I'll substitute some of the cream for half and half or just milk. Still, I enjoyed it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is my absolute favorite soup of all time! Delicious. I took it to a potluck and the hostess made sure to keep the extra. Ten stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I made this for our Progressive Dinner Party and it was delicious! I was a little nervous because our friends are such great cooks. Everyone wanted the recipe. I took the advise and made the base before hand, then added the cream and crabmeat right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Simply outstanding! I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and shredded imitation crab in the food processor. This will definately be in our regular rotation in addition to a special occasion treat for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States