Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great - didn't change a thing when making. After only two bites, my wife said, "make sure to keep this recipe"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Wow...possibly our new favorite! Mine came out a little thinner than we like, so next time I'll add an extra tablespoon or two flour. I also used 1/2 the salt since I used salted butter and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
With all the great reviews, I was surprised by how boring this soup was. The taste of onions and seasoning overwhelmed the corn and crab. It had good texture, but the flavor was just not very good. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
As my wife and I are both dieting, I decided to make a low cal version. I left out the flour and heavy cream, instead using 2 peeled and diced russet potatoes, which I cooked in the broth/clam juice instead of the corn. Cooked the corn separately, but drained the cooking liquid into the soup for flavor. Also, since I am the only one in the family who likes spicy food, I substituted a teaspoon and a half of Creole seasoning for the salt and cayenne. When the potatoes were done, I pureed the soup in a blender, prior to adding the corn, crab and scallions. Worked like a champ, resulting in a tasty crab chowder. Saved 180 calories and 20g fat per serving, though it is slightly higher in carbs (18.4g). Next time, I’ll halve the butter as well, which should lower cals and fat even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This soup is simple to make and fabulous!! I made this for my boyfriend's family and everyone raved about it.FYI..I used the lump crab meat, not the shredded crab meat. I also bought crab legs to add extra meat. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
A surprisingly good and hearty soup! I've made this several times and have gotten huge compliments. Definitely spring for the real crab, the imitation stuff takes away from all the great flavor. I love to eat spicy foods but my guy is sort of a wuss when it comes to spiciness. I've found that adding a dash of cayenne and mixing it in my own bowl is just as good, actually gives it quite the kick! I've made it with both half and half and heavy cream, doesn't seem to be that much of a difference, so when trying to cut out calories, definitely go with the half and half. Serve with garlic Texas toast and you've got a meal that will definitely impress your guest! (Tastes even better the next day because the flavors have gotten a chance to mesh)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Great! I added a couple dashes of Old Bay and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe is fantastic!! Whole family loves this. We usually add 1 pound of crawfish for a little more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Fabulous recipe. I did not change a single thing. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Loved this soup. Adjusted the recipe, as suggested, with lowfat half & half; half the butter; half the clam juice (increased the chicken broth to compensate for loss of liquid clam juice)left off the green onions and I offered a little sherry to pour on top of each serving. It is now one of my husband's all-time favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States