Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good soup. I had some leftover white corn on the cob to use, so I hunted this one down (I'm just dumb enough to spend $25 on crab in order to salvage $2 worth of corn, haha). I added more spice to this and cut the cream back to 1 cup. Great texture, and very rich! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Amazing soup. I'm not really that into crab but I definitely enjoyed it. For those on a budget, I used the cheapest refrigerated crab I found ($5.99 for 8oz as opposed to $18 fresh) and it still tasted amazing (including to those who enjoy crab more than myself!) Only changes I made: I added a tablespoon and half of extra flour for added thickness and I accidentally spilled a lot of extra cayenne in. I simply added a little extra chicken broth to balance it out. Tasted great and a VERY forgiving recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Oh my GOSH! This was fantastic!!! My friend made it and brought it to our group to try out. Everyone RAVED about it! I think the only thing she shanged was to use yellow corn. It gave it a nice color so when I make it, I intend to do the same. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I cut back the butter to a 1/4 cup. I will never give this recipe to my family or friends so they can say "WOW, I love this" every year. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this recipe all throughout college! It's easy and delicious! My roommates made me make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
It was great! The second time I made it I added scallops instead of crab. I think the texture fits the soup better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Soooo good! Next time I will use less cayenne for my own taste, but it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great soup! Followed the recipe nearly to a tee, but used LF half and half instead of heavy cream. Will definitely make again for the extended family! *Addition* I did make this soup again, but used salmon. I thought I had enough crab, but oops, the salmon was just as great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very tasty,although I had to use canned corn and frozen lobster meat; I also reduced the amount of cayenne to a mere dash, substituted the hot sauce (didn´t have any) for Liquid Smoke and poached the green onions with the onion and garlic at the beginning. Served it as a first course of a creole/cajun dinner and was a huge success. Will certainly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe! I added Old Bay and some hot sauce because I like things a little bit spicy, the soup was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexander, New York, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States