Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Awesome! My mother was actually jealous of how well this turned out because it was apparently better then the kind she makes! The only thing I changed was adding some old bay to taste, other then that this was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Overall excellent; I think I will thicken it a little more next time. Good with a splash of sherry on the top. Just enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made a couple variations to this recipe; I added 1/2 lb. of bay scallops, 1/2 lb. salad shrimp, and 1/2 lb. lobster and extra cream to make it more of a chowder. OMG it turned out SOOOO good!!! My father-in-law owns a Bed & Breakfast and he is a fabulous cook, but when I presented this as part of his seafood themed birthday dinner, he was begging to get the recipe from me! Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Delicious soup & so easy to make! My 14 year old daughter has been making this for the family for several years & we all love it! It is so creamy & has just the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We love spicy foods, especially soups and this one is a winner. I am watching my fat and calories so I substitued 8oz. of lite cream cheese and 1 1/2 Cups Lowfat milk for the heavy cream. I also used 1/2 the salt and twice the cayenne pepper. We loved it. It wasn't as heavy as a similar soup I have tasted. Very Tasty! I will definitely fix this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My family loves spicy food, so I doubled the amount of white pepper and cayenne pepper. I also took up the suggestions of a couple reviewers and substituted the heavy cream with milk and added 1/4 cup of sherry and 1/2 tsp of paprika. One final change that I made was adding just 1 cup of clam juice instead of 2. Overall, it was really good and simple to make; I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haylee
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was definitely not my favorite recipe or soup. The fish taste was a little too strong for me. That was probably due to the clam juice so I would probably use less of that and more milk next time. But honestly there probably won't be a next time. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very good soup. I had some leftover white corn on the cob to use, so I hunted this one down (I'm just dumb enough to spend $25 on crab in order to salvage $2 worth of corn, haha). I added more spice to this and cut the cream back to 1 cup. Great texture, and very rich! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Amazing soup. I'm not really that into crab but I definitely enjoyed it. For those on a budget, I used the cheapest refrigerated crab I found ($5.99 for 8oz as opposed to $18 fresh) and it still tasted amazing (including to those who enjoy crab more than myself!) Only changes I made: I added a tablespoon and half of extra flour for added thickness and I accidentally spilled a lot of extra cayenne in. I simply added a little extra chicken broth to balance it out. Tasted great and a VERY forgiving recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Oh my GOSH! This was fantastic!!! My friend made it and brought it to our group to try out. Everyone RAVED about it! I think the only thing she shanged was to use yellow corn. It gave it a nice color so when I make it, I intend to do the same. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States