Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe just didn't do it for me. I think it is because unfortunately I tasted a rather delicious She-Crab soup in the Atlanta area and was hoping that I would find something that came close, but this just wasn't my style. I might be good to those who go in without a specific taste in mind for crab soup, but I on the other hand will look for a recipe closer to what I have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe and used it for a starter at a buffet dinner for 35 people (tripled the amount on the recipe). Everyone loved it! Even someone who is allergic to crab had to try it because everyone was raving about. I was nervous because I never made a cream based soup...but it was successful! Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was really good. I used milk instead of cream and was happy I did because this soup was really rich. I used canned crab and was happy with the results. I did add extra cayenne and added a small diced potato. I will make this again. And lastly I used 1 3/4 cup of chicken broth and 1/4 cup sherry because I didn't have any clam juice and was worried about this recipe being too fishy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Pretty good base recipe. I added a couple diced yukon gold's and used whole milk because I didn't have cream. I found the end result pretty plain so I added 3 or 4 teaspoons of Old Bay, a little extra cayenne and the crab liquid. After his first bite my husband said "Gordon Ramsay would approve" hahaha :) I also served this with crusty french bread. Yum! Thanks for the recipe... one of the only soup recipes my husband has liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Awesome! My mother was actually jealous of how well this turned out because it was apparently better then the kind she makes! The only thing I changed was adding some old bay to taste, other then that this was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Overall excellent; I think I will thicken it a little more next time. Good with a splash of sherry on the top. Just enough heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made a couple variations to this recipe; I added 1/2 lb. of bay scallops, 1/2 lb. salad shrimp, and 1/2 lb. lobster and extra cream to make it more of a chowder. OMG it turned out SOOOO good!!! My father-in-law owns a Bed & Breakfast and he is a fabulous cook, but when I presented this as part of his seafood themed birthday dinner, he was begging to get the recipe from me! Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Delicious soup & so easy to make! My 14 year old daughter has been making this for the family for several years & we all love it! It is so creamy & has just the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We love spicy foods, especially soups and this one is a winner. I am watching my fat and calories so I substitued 8oz. of lite cream cheese and 1 1/2 Cups Lowfat milk for the heavy cream. I also used 1/2 the salt and twice the cayenne pepper. We loved it. It wasn't as heavy as a similar soup I have tasted. Very Tasty! I will definitely fix this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
My family loves spicy food, so I doubled the amount of white pepper and cayenne pepper. I also took up the suggestions of a couple reviewers and substituted the heavy cream with milk and added 1/4 cup of sherry and 1/2 tsp of paprika. One final change that I made was adding just 1 cup of clam juice instead of 2. Overall, it was really good and simple to make; I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States