Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by J-Shep
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
this was really good. i think i like the salmon chowder (replace salmon w/ a lighter fish and crab) by KENULIA a little bit better than this recipe. if i could combine the two, that would be perfect. the crab and cream from this recipe and the seasonings, celery, and red potatoes from the other. this was great. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Add extra 2 Tblsp flour, wisk in block of cream cheese, use milk instead of cream, use 1/2 of salt, add diced potato, add 3 or 4 Tsp Old Bay Seasoning, substitute 1 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning for salt and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wonderful, quick and easy! The main changes I made just suit my tastes - used creamed white corn and no fat cream cheese instead of heavy cream to cut the fat a bit. Used cornstarch instead of flour (smoother) and all chicken broth. Added some Old Bay for spice. Excellent for dinner, filling and rich. Reheated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Not sure what I was expecting but this didn't really meet my expectations. I followed the recipe, but the soup didn't seem to have much flavor and for me, the corn seemed out of place. I guess that I was looking for a creamier type of soup without the crunch of corn. Also, the soup was too thin and watery. I prefer a little more thickness in a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great and simple. I used a bit less butter than called for and milk instead of heavy cream. It was still superbly rich and creamy. Next time I will try to halve the butter and see if I can get away with saving a few more calories/grams of fat. Also, at the end once I took it off the stove, I added a splash of champagne vinegar to take it up a notch. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Simply put this soup was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe just didn't do it for me. I think it is because unfortunately I tasted a rather delicious She-Crab soup in the Atlanta area and was hoping that I would find something that came close, but this just wasn't my style. I might be good to those who go in without a specific taste in mind for crab soup, but I on the other hand will look for a recipe closer to what I have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe and used it for a starter at a buffet dinner for 35 people (tripled the amount on the recipe). Everyone loved it! Even someone who is allergic to crab had to try it because everyone was raving about. I was nervous because I never made a cream based soup...but it was successful! Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was really good. I used milk instead of cream and was happy I did because this soup was really rich. I used canned crab and was happy with the results. I did add extra cayenne and added a small diced potato. I will make this again. And lastly I used 1 3/4 cup of chicken broth and 1/4 cup sherry because I didn't have any clam juice and was worried about this recipe being too fishy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Pretty good base recipe. I added a couple diced yukon gold's and used whole milk because I didn't have cream. I found the end result pretty plain so I added 3 or 4 teaspoons of Old Bay, a little extra cayenne and the crab liquid. After his first bite my husband said "Gordon Ramsay would approve" hahaha :) I also served this with crusty french bread. Yum! Thanks for the recipe... one of the only soup recipes my husband has liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States