Cajun Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Husband actually ate this, so that is a high review. He doesn't really like crab but he liked it a lot. Next time I would add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This soup was excellent. I made a couple changes. I added 3 diced baking potatoes to the broth and cooked them until tender. I added 1 cup water plus 2 chicken boullion cubes. And also substituted one can fat free evaporated milk for the cream. Will definetely make again. It is very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent and memorable. Hubs preferred I sub celery for the white corn and it proved to be a surprisingly delicious substitute. Also, rather than the cayenne, white pepper and thyme, I simply used a Cajun seasoning to taste. I used pasteurized, lump crab meat. This comes together quickly, uses simple ingredients and really delivers - this is a rich, velvety smooth, creamy and distinctly seafood flavored soup, decadently delicious with big chunks of crab. Exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JennyJenn
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
this was really good. i think i like the salmon chowder (replace salmon w/ a lighter fish and crab) by KENULIA a little bit better than this recipe. if i could combine the two, that would be perfect. the crab and cream from this recipe and the seasonings, celery, and red potatoes from the other. this was great. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Add extra 2 Tblsp flour, wisk in block of cream cheese, use milk instead of cream, use 1/2 of salt, add diced potato, add 3 or 4 Tsp Old Bay Seasoning, substitute 1 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning for salt and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wonderful, quick and easy! The main changes I made just suit my tastes - used creamed white corn and no fat cream cheese instead of heavy cream to cut the fat a bit. Used cornstarch instead of flour (smoother) and all chicken broth. Added some Old Bay for spice. Excellent for dinner, filling and rich. Reheated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Not sure what I was expecting but this didn't really meet my expectations. I followed the recipe, but the soup didn't seem to have much flavor and for me, the corn seemed out of place. I guess that I was looking for a creamier type of soup without the crunch of corn. Also, the soup was too thin and watery. I prefer a little more thickness in a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great and simple. I used a bit less butter than called for and milk instead of heavy cream. It was still superbly rich and creamy. Next time I will try to halve the butter and see if I can get away with saving a few more calories/grams of fat. Also, at the end once I took it off the stove, I added a splash of champagne vinegar to take it up a notch. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Simply put this soup was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe just didn't do it for me. I think it is because unfortunately I tasted a rather delicious She-Crab soup in the Atlanta area and was hoping that I would find something that came close, but this just wasn't my style. I might be good to those who go in without a specific taste in mind for crab soup, but I on the other hand will look for a recipe closer to what I have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States