Cajun Crab Cakes (No Breadcrumbs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I only had 8 oz of good crabmeat, so I halved the recipe. I did not have Creole seasoning but used Cajun seasoning (same difference, I believe). The combination of veggies and spices produced a nicely flavored crabcake. When forming, the mixture held together very well and also during the pan-frying. The dipping sauce included with the recipe has a good, spicy Cajun flavor. I happened to have some homemade garlic aioli and honey mustard that I also enjoyed with the crabcakes. Thanks for the great recipe, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tried this last night. Taste great, though the Cajun seasonings I had to use had less salt, and I had to add a pinch to each cake prior to serving. I used only olive oil and did not include the dill (as there was none to be had). I served with wedges of lime and lemon instead of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Extremely delicious! I substituted cooked cod for the crabmeat...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I must admit I was prepared not to like these. What, no mayo? What’s with all the herbs? (I used fresh). It also seemed liked an overload of seasoning and way too many vegetables for the small amount of crab. I thought Hubs would appreciate them even less. His sensitive innards would never be able to tolerate all that Sriracha in the sauce, I thought. But he said he wasn’t interested in having any crab cakes anyway, so I proceeded. But he tried them and ended up eating two of them – we were both surprised at how much we liked them! So different, so flavorful, spicy and fresh tasting! Proof that sometimes it pays to go outside of your comfort zone and try something new and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I have made this recipe twice: the first time without dipping sauce, and I used some fresh parsley I had around, and made my own cajun seasoning. It was very good (4.5 stars). The second time, I made it according to directions (2.5 stars-- maybe I misread them): dried parsley flakes do not hack it for me; Tony Cachere's seasoning has way too much salt; and I have to believe that there is a typo on the dipping sauce: we could not eat it, way too salty. IMHO, make it with fresh parsley; add 1/2 lemon's juice, cut the Tony Cachere's seasoning in half; use one tsp of basil. Better yet, make your own cajun seafood seasoning mix: 1/2 tsp salt,1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp white pepper, 1/4 tsp cayeene, 1/4 tsp crushed peppers (like you use on pizza), 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/4 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp onion powder-- use 1/2 of this mix and add salt judiciously after tasting the final mix before forming the cakes. I don't know what to do about the sauce-- the cakes are so good alone we don't need it anyway. --Bill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I always make a recipe exactly as written before I review it. That being said, these were very delicious crab cakes **if you don't mind some HEAT**. The sauce turned out to be unnecessary as the crab cakes were tasty enough and the sauce was REALLY HOT. I think next time I will reduce the cajun seasoning a little. Other than that, this is now my "go-to" recipe for crab cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Similar experience as boomzila’s 12/26/12 review w/ our first four crab cakes not holding together. Wonder if using fresh vs. canned lump crabmeat could be the cause (ingredients list does not specify although Tracy mentions using fresh in her lead in; if using canned crab, suggest not only draining {which was done} but also squeezing out any excess moisture {which was not done}). Cracker crumbs were added and the remaining mixture was left in the fridge for awhile which then made the cakes bind together noticeably better. The crab cakes were pretty tasty although a bit salty. If made again, the following changes would be made: (i) use the Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site and omit the Tony Chachere's® Creole seasoning (homemade allows you to control the sodium content); (ii) to better bind the mixture if using canned crab, add three large eggs instead of two, use 14 Keebler Club® crackers, and refrigerate the crab mixture for at least one hour; and (iii) eliminate pan frying in oil by baking/broiling them as other reviewers did. We wasted ingredients by making the spicy Cajun dipping sauce as Tony Chachere's® seasoning made a salty sauce for our tastes thereby elevating the overall saltiness of the crab cakes . . . no one used the sauce after an initial taste test. We’re only rating the crab cakes as the sauce need not be an integral part of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Perfect crab cakes! I had been searching for one that was light and used no bread crumbs and this hit the nail on the head. The only thing is I broiled it in the oven for about 5 minutes or so till lightly brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The crab cakes were perfect!I love that they were not weighted down with a lot of crumbs. I was a bit concerned that they would be over seasoned but they were perfect. The sauce was nothing special. I ended up doubling the sriracha which made it "good" but then ate the crab cakes without it anyhow because they were so wonderful. I will certainly make these again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
not bad very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States