Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was so good I had the impulse to fill the bathtub and roll around in it. My guest at first said it was good, but as he got further down the bowl, to the chunks of crab and corn, he starting raving. He wanted seconds but I decided to save the rest for myself. A significant change I made was to use fat free cream. This made it much healthier but, believe me, the flavor was still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup was amazing! I halved the liquids and used a can of cream corn and 12 oz of crab to use what I had in the cupboard. I'll be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I did my own tweaking and it came out so good it should be illegal. I used 6 TB butter, 6TB flour for the roux. Then I used 2 TB butter to soften the 1/2 of small onion. I used 1/2 tsp of cajun seasoning,( 2 )14oz cans of low sodium chicken broth,1 bag of 14oz frozen baby corn,1 cup fat free half & half, 1 cup lite cream, 1/2 tsp shrimp & crab boil, 1 lb of canned lump crabmeat & salt to taste.UPDATE: I used 1 can of white wine in place of 1 of the 2 cans of broth, and it has a nice complimentary flavor to the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This bisque was awesome but a little too bland so I used about 2 tablespoons of Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) and now it's tastes like something I would order straight out of new orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Wow! This was amazing. I've never made a soup before, so I followed the directions as closely as I could with a few minor additions and the result was spectacular. The bisque was so amazing that my husband (and I) are a little worried I may never be able to duplicate it ? These are my additions: when I added the broth, corn, and bay leaf, I also added a about half of a small jar of pimentos because I thought they would give a nice touch of color and I think many crab bisque's I’ve eaten at restaurants have something red – I wasn’t sure if it was a red pepper or pimento, but the pimento worked very well and was soft and tasty in the soup.. When I added the milk, cream, and liquid crab boil, I also added three splashes of cooking sherry. By the way, I had no idea what “liquid crab and shrimp boil seasoning” is. I searched the spice aisle of our best grocer and found ‘superior touch better than bouillon lobster base’ and hoped for the best. This seemed to work quite well. I am not a Cajun cooker, but a friend gave us Tony Chachare’s “More Spice” seasoning as a gift, and three “shakes” of this Cajun spice resulted in a bisque that was not spicy until after swallowing, when a mild spice (I have young children) emerged. This was wonderful – I hope I can re-create it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good!!! One of the best meals I have ever made. I did change a few things. I used 4 ears of fresh corn. I added one jalapeno and hot sauce for extra spice.I also used Tony's(cajun seasoning)for flavor.I like it real spicy! I also added one and a half more cups of chicken stock so it wasn't so thick. Everything else I followed by the recipe! My whole family is from New Orleans so I know a great bisque and this is one!! AWESOME recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was absolutely delicious and very quick & easy to make. Cooking time was more around 30 min start to finish. I was worried about the statement that it would taste salty so I didn't add additional salt (the recipe doesn't call for Old Bay seasoning so maybe that's where she went wrong). However, it was not salty at all. I also didn't add the shrimp/crab boil because I didn't have any and didn't know where to get it. I used a can (6 oz) of lump crab meat and a 1/2 pound of fresh, small shrimp (size 90-110). I followed everything else to the tee. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
nice recipe, but to make things easier, when you make the roux add the veggies directly to the roux; then the liquids...as real cajan cooks use a darker roux although it does not have the thickening qualities as a lighter roux it will still be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was good BUT, between the salt in the Creole seasoning and the salt in the Old Bay seasoning and the salt in the Worchestershire... this was like a salt lick. Even my son who always adds more salt, thought it was too salty. I know that my Cajun BF wouldn't like this because of the salt. I will keep the recipe, but I won't add the Old Bay or additional salt to the bisque. I did add finely diced carrots, dried parsley (towards the end) ps: Old Bay brand crab and shrimp boil (liquid) was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was good despite I didn't have any Cajun seasoning... I noticed after I already came home from the store. Hubby liked it a lot and I tried making up for the spice with some garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne and paprika. It didn't get as thick as I wanted so I mixed some corn starch with a bit more chicken broth and whisked in a few T. I also added a little crumbled bacon on top (not pictured) with the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States