Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This bisque was scrumptious. My kids loved it. I halved the recipe then regretted it because we ate it all so quickly. This will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was good BUT, between the salt in the Creole seasoning and the salt in the Old Bay seasoning and the salt in the Worchestershire... this was like a salt lick. Even my son who always adds more salt, thought it was too salty. I know that my Cajun BF wouldn't like this because of the salt. I will keep the recipe, but I won't add the Old Bay or additional salt to the bisque. I did add finely diced carrots, dried parsley (towards the end) ps: Old Bay brand crab and shrimp boil (liquid) was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was absolutely delicious and very quick & easy to make. Cooking time was more around 30 min start to finish. I was worried about the statement that it would taste salty so I didn't add additional salt (the recipe doesn't call for Old Bay seasoning so maybe that's where she went wrong). However, it was not salty at all. I also didn't add the shrimp/crab boil because I didn't have any and didn't know where to get it. I used a can (6 oz) of lump crab meat and a 1/2 pound of fresh, small shrimp (size 90-110). I followed everything else to the tee. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This soup tasted very good, but the appearance left a lot to be desired. It tended to look a little greasy or watery. The taste was good, but I am going to work on making it look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Verrry rich. I used 2% milk one time and 1% another along with the heavy whipping cream , and it was still delicious. I did find the darker you manage to get your roux without burning it, the richer the color. My mother, who is an excellent southern cook, raved about it to everyone. The only thing I added was about a tablespoon of Tiger Sauce to up the kick from the crab boil. Made it twice in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Loved it! Even with reducing the calories by using Land O Lakes Light butter, fat free milk and fat free half & half inplace of heavy cream..I don't think we were missing out on any flavor. I might have gone a little heavy on the cajun seasoning but I love it! *If you never cooked with bay leaves before... remove them before eating =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This bisque was awesome but a little too bland so I used about 2 tablespoons of Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) and now it's tastes like something I would order straight out of new orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I thought this might be difficult when I read it called for a roux but it turned out quite simple and fast! the taste was excellent, I followed the recipe exact but instead of a full lb of crab I used half crab and half crawfish tails-rinsed throughly before adding them to bisque. The taste is one I have tasted in a favorite restuarant in Lafayette, LA. I will definitley be making again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Wow! This was amazing. I've never made a soup before, so I followed the directions as closely as I could with a few minor additions and the result was spectacular. The bisque was so amazing that my husband (and I) are a little worried I may never be able to duplicate it ? These are my additions: when I added the broth, corn, and bay leaf, I also added a about half of a small jar of pimentos because I thought they would give a nice touch of color and I think many crab bisque's I’ve eaten at restaurants have something red – I wasn’t sure if it was a red pepper or pimento, but the pimento worked very well and was soft and tasty in the soup.. When I added the milk, cream, and liquid crab boil, I also added three splashes of cooking sherry. By the way, I had no idea what “liquid crab and shrimp boil seasoning” is. I searched the spice aisle of our best grocer and found ‘superior touch better than bouillon lobster base’ and hoped for the best. This seemed to work quite well. I am not a Cajun cooker, but a friend gave us Tony Chachare’s “More Spice” seasoning as a gift, and three “shakes” of this Cajun spice resulted in a bisque that was not spicy until after swallowing, when a mild spice (I have young children) emerged. This was wonderful – I hope I can re-create it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup was amazing! I halved the liquids and used a can of cream corn and 12 oz of crab to use what I had in the cupboard. I'll be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States