Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was so good I had the impulse to fill the bathtub and roll around in it. My guest at first said it was good, but as he got further down the bowl, to the chunks of crab and corn, he starting raving. He wanted seconds but I decided to save the rest for myself. A significant change I made was to use fat free cream. This made it much healthier but, believe me, the flavor was still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good!!! One of the best meals I have ever made. I did change a few things. I used 4 ears of fresh corn. I added one jalapeno and hot sauce for extra spice.I also used Tony's(cajun seasoning)for flavor.I like it real spicy! I also added one and a half more cups of chicken stock so it wasn't so thick. Everything else I followed by the recipe! My whole family is from New Orleans so I know a great bisque and this is one!! AWESOME recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
YUUUUUMMMM! Not disapointed! My picky little one even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
MMMMMMMM MMMMMMMM GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This recipe is DA BOMB! Add a little white wine for added flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup was amazing! I halved the liquids and used a can of cream corn and 12 oz of crab to use what I had in the cupboard. I'll be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Wow! This was amazing. I've never made a soup before, so I followed the directions as closely as I could with a few minor additions and the result was spectacular. The bisque was so amazing that my husband (and I) are a little worried I may never be able to duplicate it ? These are my additions: when I added the broth, corn, and bay leaf, I also added a about half of a small jar of pimentos because I thought they would give a nice touch of color and I think many crab bisque's I’ve eaten at restaurants have something red – I wasn’t sure if it was a red pepper or pimento, but the pimento worked very well and was soft and tasty in the soup.. When I added the milk, cream, and liquid crab boil, I also added three splashes of cooking sherry. By the way, I had no idea what “liquid crab and shrimp boil seasoning” is. I searched the spice aisle of our best grocer and found ‘superior touch better than bouillon lobster base’ and hoped for the best. This seemed to work quite well. I am not a Cajun cooker, but a friend gave us Tony Chachare’s “More Spice” seasoning as a gift, and three “shakes” of this Cajun spice resulted in a bisque that was not spicy until after swallowing, when a mild spice (I have young children) emerged. This was wonderful – I hope I can re-create it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I thought this might be difficult when I read it called for a roux but it turned out quite simple and fast! the taste was excellent, I followed the recipe exact but instead of a full lb of crab I used half crab and half crawfish tails-rinsed throughly before adding them to bisque. The taste is one I have tasted in a favorite restuarant in Lafayette, LA. I will definitley be making again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This bisque was awesome but a little too bland so I used about 2 tablespoons of Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) and now it's tastes like something I would order straight out of new orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Loved it! Even with reducing the calories by using Land O Lakes Light butter, fat free milk and fat free half & half inplace of heavy cream..I don't think we were missing out on any flavor. I might have gone a little heavy on the cajun seasoning but I love it! *If you never cooked with bay leaves before... remove them before eating =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States