Cajun Corn and Bacon Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Cannot wait to try this recipe. I have saved another recipe for Cajun chicken gumbo also by this same user, it's fantastic. Great on chilly nights and football gatherings a huge hit with family and friends. I have a picky teenage daughter that can't get enough of the gumbo and asks for it all the time. I see this being just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this as a side dish for a Mardi Gras dinner party. Everyone loved it. I made it as written, using red and orange peppers and frozen corn and adding "Slap Ya Mama" Cajun seasoning. I soaked the corn in a mixture of 2% milk and Half and Half while I chopped all the vegetables and fried the bacon. After cooking as directed, I put it in a preheated 200 degree F oven to keep warm until transporting to the party. I did add the bacon and green onions before putting the dish in the oven. I plan to make this again as a side dish -- Mardi Gras or not! As someone at the party said, "Why don't we do this with corn all the time? This is SO good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
A delightfully different way to serve corn. Used fresh bi-color corn. Cut about 1/2 to 2/3’s from the kernels in first pass. Scraped the cobs using sharp edge of knife to get the remaining ‘milk’ and pulp out. Chopped the onions for easier eating. Cooked peppers & onions in 1 tablespoon bacon grease versus the suggested vegetable oil. Subbed a red bell pepper for green, and added 2 chopped fresh jalapeno peppers (one deseeded & membrane removed to temper heat). Subbed Creole Seasoning from this site for the cayenne pepper. The bacon is what really puts this recipe over the top and distinguishes it from other corn dishes. It’s worth buying a better cut, and we preferred thick-sliced bacon. Excellent recipe YOYO78.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Not bad at all. Here are my suggestions.....Use either 8 oz butter to saute', or cook 4 strips bacon to a crisp, use bacon grease to saute'. Add everything, simmer 12 min. Add salt n Cayenne, simmer another 15 min. This recipe is fine as is, really nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Very tasty, good use of leftover corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Delicious even with frozen corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Schafer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I made it "as is" with the addition of 2 tbs of butter for flavor. I will be making this again...but doubled because it went so fast at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I liked. Really wished we had fresh corn in season. Kids thought there were too many green peppers and onions. So maybe next time I'll half the onions and add red pepper instead of green
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wonderful side dish. My only change was to use Tony's seasoning and some hot sauce instead of salt and cayenne pepper. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States