Cajun Corn and Bacon Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was really good and so easy! Fresh corn is out of season so I used canned corn(but I'm sure frozen would be good too). I chopped the bacon and cooked it in a regular saute pan. I took the bacon out and added the peppers and onions. I added the canned corn and tomatoes at the end. I forgot the milk but I used some cajun seasoning as well as the cayenne pepper. I put the bacon crumbles on top before serving so they would stay crispy. We ate this with ribs and mashed potatoes. Thanks for a good recipe - I can't wait to try it with fresh corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Loved it! This is a nice twist on fresh summer corn. Followed the recipe as stated and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Turned out great with no modifactions. If/when I make this again I'll dice the onions rather than slice them for the sake of consistency and to make it easier to eat. It went over really well at a covered dish luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Very good. I used three cups of canned corn, drained, instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
We wanted something light and summery for dinner so decided on this recipe. I was skeptical about milking the cob-I cut mine so close there was nothing left(we didn't need it anyway). I used 2 roma tomatos, 1/2 a large onion and a good dash of garlic powder. I didn't think the 1/4 cup of milk would do it, but it was perfect. I didn't use cayenne as then the kids wouldn't eat it. The adults enjoyed it though the flavor was mild. Next time I will use bacon grease instead of vegetable oil to step up the flavor a little bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was a great cool-down with a hot Cajun meal. If you're feeling lazy, you can also use bacon bits instead of the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! I think it might be my favorite way to eat corn now...very refreshing! I followed the recipe exactly, exceipt I added in two small diced tomatillos which I thought went perfect with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Really great recipe. Unfortunately, I had to use frozen corn as corn on the cob is out of season here. The bacon and tomato really made the dish and the cayenne put it over the top. Be VERY careful how much you add. Do it very slowly. A tiny tiny sprinkle goes a looong way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
So good. Made this when my sis-in-law came over and we all loved it. Easy and the perfect amount of spiciness. I served it with the Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin from this site and a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good! Taste something like my grandma used to make for Sunday dinner. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States