Cajun Compromise Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This recipe is very good! I rated this 4 because I feel the directions should have included proper frying directions for those that may not have fried fish before. I use my electric skillet to keep the oil regulated at 350 degrees and used about 1 1/2-inches of peanut oil. Once they are golden brown on each side, I find it is best to drain on a rack placed on top of the paper towel, the rack will keep the fish crispy along with frying at the proper temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe for spicy, crispy catfish! I used my Lodge cast iron skillet and melted Crisco for the oil (a traditional choice in Mississippi) until I had about 1 inch. I suggest you DOUBLE the dry mixture as you will not have enough to coat all the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was awsome! We totally devoured it! You do need to double the recipe for the coating. BTW, I didn't have time to let them sit in the fridge, so I just started frying them as soon as I had them all prepared. It worked just fine, no problems whatsoever! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
My husband and I "LOVED" this recipe. I changed only one thing, I had to use yellow mustard rather than ground mustard because I didn't have any. Incorporating fish into our diet will be a sinch, if I can find more recipes as good as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow...GREAT recipe. Take the other reviewers advice and double the dry ingredients. I follwed this recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding about 5 dashes of hot sauce (we like it spicy down south) and my catfish turned out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I gave this recipe a 3 because of the way it was written. Normally I read the reviews, but this time I thought with these ingredients, you can't go wrong....boy I was wrong. I ended up making 3 batches of the breading (I used 3 lbs of fish, so I had changed the number of servings). Doing the batches on the fly was a pain. Then I had used partially frozen fish, so my breading was basically mush before frying, and letting it sit in the fridge. My recommendations are to double or triple this recipe, use fresh or completely thawed fish, and when putting it in the fridge, make sure it is in a single layer in your pan. By the way the taste of the seasoning, wasn't bad, but wasn't my favorite by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
AMAAAZING!!!! I myself am not a big fish lover but i made this for my boyfriend and i for dinner with dirty rice and it turned out absolutely amazing! Had just the right amount of heat to make both him and i happy. He's all about spicy HOT food, me not so much. Will definitely be saving this to make it again and again! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great and simple recipe for catfish. It turned out great and husband asked to add it to our recipes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was an easy to make and flavorful dish. I served it as a sandwich with tartar sauce and cajun mayo. I added more than a dash of hot sauce to the batter and it was just the right amount of spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I cook this for some guess. They thought that it was good, but It did come out like thought it would. I am going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preston Moore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States