Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Excellent authentic cajun gumbo recipe. I used a smoked chicken (because I had one on hand) and it gave it a nice, faint smoky flavor. Be sure to cook the roux thoroughly and get it good and dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is the BEST gumbo! I've been making this for over 20 years from my mom's recipe that she got from a cajun neighbor when she lived in Lafayette LA in the early 60's. And this recipe is almost exactly like the one I make. The changes I made was I did not add bellpepper (personal preference) and I added 2 cans of okra (drained) and added 1 tbs of file (optional). Plus I boiled a chicken and deboned. I darkened my roux more like chocolate pudding. Otherwise, I was tickled to see this recipe posted. It truly is "THE BEST EVER GUMBO! Once in a while, I'll add some canned drained oysters too. Thanks YoYo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe was a hit, and easy to make! I could not find Andouille Sausage at my local grocery store but the butcher recommended Chorizo Sausage(spicy sausage)as an close second, excellent recommendation. No left overs with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I've only eaten gumbo once in New Orleans, and this was so much better than I remember. I used corn oil and cooked the roux until closer to the color of milk chocolate rather than chocolate milk as recommended in other Gumbo recipes on this site. Used mild Italian sausage and 1 lb boneless chicken breast. Used 2 Tbsp Cajun Seasoning I brought back from New Orleans which might make it a little spicy for kids. Chopped 1/3 red, 1/3 yellow, and 1/3 green peppers. Will remember next time to have all ingredients cooked, chopped and ready before starting my roux. I added the chicken the same time I added the other ingredients and only simmered uncovered for 1 hour, stirring often. Gumbo was even better the next day. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Never made this before, decided to try it for Fat Tuesday. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I've made this twice in the last 6 weeks, the second time by request. I haven't even tasted it because it's gone so fast. I was asked to make again but I just passed on the recipe. I made it a day ahead, added shrimp when I rewarmed it. Roasted the bones from the chicken and the chells from the shrimp and added to chicken broth to make stock - I here it was the best gumbo ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I had a Mardi Gras party this past weekend & everyone LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyceRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Really delicious. I only used half the roux because I like my gumbo thicker. I needed about 3 pounds of meat (chicken and sausage)to make this a stew-type gumbo. I also added 1/2 lb of frozen okra during the last 30 min. I only cooked mine for about an hour, but sauteed the veggies and chicken for 15 min before adding to the roux. A few tips for those new at making a roux: careful when you add the vegetables to the roux, the roux will splatter like hot oil. at medium heat this took 30 min. to turn the color of chocolate milk. I would recommend medium high heat, but watch the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Topnotch recipe. I messed up the roux on the first go but got it right the 2nd time. My market had no andouille sausage so I used 1 lb of Hillshire Farms Hot Kielbasa. I added a handful of chopped parsley after the first half-hour of the roux simmering and then a 1/2 pound of shrimp, another handful of chopped parsley, and 1 lb of frozen, but thawed fist, cut okra during the last 5 minutes of cooking. You get this roux down and you are set for life. The writer didn't mention quantities for salt, pepper, or Cajun seasoning so we added them somewhat sparingly and it was enough, the sausage itself provides lots of seasoning/flavor. Wonderful stuff. We made this for 4 people last night who all enjoyed it immensley and we're having it again for dinner (2)and expect there still be some leftovers so it's not that expensive in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe is delicious. My rue came out really too thick after I added the chicken stock, so next time I'll use only 1/2 c of flour & oil. I spent 10 - 15 mins cooking the rue to a nice chocolatey color, but I think next time I'll just add gravy master :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States