Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Finally a traditional southern gumbo! It just irritates me to see all the gumbo recipes with tomatoes! A REAL gumbo does not have a tomatoes!!!!! I also do not measure any ingredients. I boil 6 chicken thighs ,season the water with celery,onion, garlic(lots),salt and nature seasoning.remove chicken when done and debone. Add the meat back in the broth you just made. Cut up any sausage you like and add that also. Keep it warming. I make a really thick and dark roux but my family loves a strong tasting gumbo. I don't use a cup of oil and flour. I use about half a cup of oil and sprinkle flour while stiring until I have almost a paste consistency. Then I cook in a cast iron skillet on med-low and wisk constantly for quite a while. When it is the color I want(we do dark chocolate) and right before it burns I throw in the trinity! The onion will keep the roux from burning. I cook that for just a few minutes and add it to my slightly boiling stock pot of chicken and sausage. Stir it up to mix in the roux.After it simmers for a while grease may come to the top. I just keep skimming it off. Most times I make a second roux with bacon grease and add that to the simmering gumbo. It gives a really nice flavor. I usually add tony cachere's but that's the only heat type seasoning we use. We always serve ours OVER potato salad not rice. The flavors of the two together will knock your socks off!! And sometimes I boil extra eggs and throw those in the gumbo. And it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
i have tried several gumbo recipes and by far this is the best! i let the roux get to a rich brown color and the dish was so flavorful. everyone couldn't get enough of this dish. i know this will become a frequent repeat dinner.....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pretty good!! But why put Creole seasoning in a Cajun gumbo? Use Cajun seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe is so wonderful!! For a first time gumbo-maker, it was so easy to follow. Roux worked out perfect. I prepared as listed, except using Canola oil and Chicken breasts (as that was what I had on hand). Received numerous compliments/raves. Will try again exactly as listed. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Yum! Made for Fat Tuesday fun & was a big hit. If you lower heat after oil is hot, your roux will not burn, but will take approx 30 minutes. Thanks to reviewer who suggested making roux in advance and all of you who recommended less oil and more Creole seasoning. Topped gumbo with chopped green onion tops; served with yellow rice and 1/2 small sweet potato with butter (traditional) on the side. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Roux took a lot longer (a lil over 30 mins) but most good things take time... everyone loved this! Will be making again soon. Thanks for a great recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I decided to make this gumbo recipe on Valentines Day for my boyfriend from Louisiana...yes that takes a lot of faith in my fellow reviewers! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 extra stalk of celery and 1 tablespoon of the Creole seasoning (instead of to taste cuz I had no idea what it was supposed to take like). WELL...My boyfriend called his mom in Louisiana after tasting my gumbo to tell her how amazing it was. Wahoo!!! Thank you to the author of this recipe. I served it with a blend of white and brown rice and a side of potato salad (heavy on the mustard) as they do in New Orleans. Thank you!!! Can't wait to make it again. ****My roux cooked for in excess of 30 minutes though...took a lot longer to reach that dark color than 10 minutes****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this for "Soup-er" day at work, the day after Super Bowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was great stuff! Took an awfully long time, and my SO and I felt it was missing the addition of shrimp, which are the reasons I felt it just missed the 5 star mark. Having said that, it's even better the second day, when the flavors have gotten acquainted. We added some shrimp to the leftovers and we were not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I just made this Gumbo and it is wonderful! I have tried to make gumbo before but was never successful. I think what made the difference for me was starting with the roux and adding to it, rather than making the "soup" and then adding roux. I did add some cayenne but other than stuck to the recipe. It's really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States