Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I decided to make this gumbo recipe on Valentines Day for my boyfriend from Louisiana...yes that takes a lot of faith in my fellow reviewers! I followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1 extra stalk of celery and 1 tablespoon of the Creole seasoning (instead of to taste cuz I had no idea what it was supposed to take like). WELL...My boyfriend called his mom in Louisiana after tasting my gumbo to tell her how amazing it was. Wahoo!!! Thank you to the author of this recipe. I served it with a blend of white and brown rice and a side of potato salad (heavy on the mustard) as they do in New Orleans. Thank you!!! Can't wait to make it again. ****My roux cooked for in excess of 30 minutes though...took a lot longer to reach that dark color than 10 minutes****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this for "Soup-er" day at work, the day after Super Bowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was great stuff! Took an awfully long time, and my SO and I felt it was missing the addition of shrimp, which are the reasons I felt it just missed the 5 star mark. Having said that, it's even better the second day, when the flavors have gotten acquainted. We added some shrimp to the leftovers and we were not disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I just made this Gumbo and it is wonderful! I have tried to make gumbo before but was never successful. I think what made the difference for me was starting with the roux and adding to it, rather than making the "soup" and then adding roux. I did add some cayenne but other than stuck to the recipe. It's really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I followed this recipe almost to a T but I accidentally just put 4 C of chicken broth in the beginning instead of 6- once I noticed this half way through after everything was simmering for the last hour, I added in another 2 C. It came out really thick and stewlike but was still delicious. If you like your gumbo to have a little more of a kick to it, like I do, then add lots of the Creole seasoning or try some cayenne pepper or some additional seasoning because I added in a lot of salt, pepper, and Creole seasoning and still did not have that HEAT I crave in my gumbos. Also, I like my gumbo to be more soupy, not so thick, so I would probably add in some water as well or more chicken broth to get a more brothy gumbo. Overall, it was delicious and my husband was a little upset that I took more of a helping of the leftovers to lunch the next day than he did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
UPDATE: MADE LUPE'S GUMBO ON HERE AND THIS ONE FAR SURPASSES IT! WITH A BIT OF TWEAKING, THIS CAN KICK BUTT!!! :) This was allright. A while back, my hubs made a FANTASTIC gumbo, but as with most things he makes, he forgets to save the recipe. :( We've both been craving Cajun food lately, so I decided to give this a try. While not terrible, this just doesn't compare. Contrary to some reviewer's comments about greasiness, I disagree. My gumbo wasn't oily at all but it did lack heat (apparently 1 T Cajun seasoning isn't enough for us...) and was quite thick. As YoYo suggested, I decreased my oil / flour mixture, but to to 3/4 c. rather than a 1/2 c. of each (we like our gumbo somewhat soupy). After the first hour of simmering, I had to add ANOTHER c. of broth (most of my liquid had evaporated!)!!! If I make this again, I'll DEFINITELY use less flour / oil and / or decrease the amount of chicken called for (it soaked up a LOT of juic!). NOTE: I was apprehensive aobut making my own roux, but it's really easy! Simply start by heating your oil on MEDIUM heat and then GRADUALLY add your flour, whisking well to incorporate. You can increase the heat to medium-high, but be sure to closely watch your roux (you don't want it to burn!). The darker the roux, the more intense the flavor will be. Served over rice with a side of macaroni salad and fresh baked French bread, this was a decent meal. I guess this will suit us until we find that darn Emeril recipe lol! Thanks, YoYo78! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Yumms
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very tasty! In all honesty, it's not exactly a traditional gumbo. It is much thicker and creamier than what I am used to when it comes to gumbo. We did enjoy it though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Added chicken and shrimp to the recipe just to bulk it up a little more and my husband LOVES it. He probably requests it once a month, and it takes us three days to finish it off! The roux is actually quite easy - just stir constantly with a whisk and watch the color. Once it's roughly the color of milk chocolate, you're ready to move on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Never had it before absolutely great used, smoked suasage with jalepeon, boneless chicken fillets and 3/4 of flour and 2/3 butter 1/3 oil, no excess to skim no foam. No Pepperes used shredded carrots and chopped chilis. read the reviews and used suggestions thanks to the creator and the rest of you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
It is as good as all the reviewers say! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States