Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I had been looking for a tomato-free gumbo recipe for a while! A note to anyone who said that it turned out too greasy because of the full cup of oil: it probably needs to cook longer. A lot longer. I recently stumbled upon an easy oven roux recipe that changed my life (my gumbo-making life, that is). Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. In a cast iron dutch oven, heat 1 cup of oil. After heated, slowly add a cup of flour and whisk thoroughly and heat through. Then, just transfer the whole dutch oven into the pre-heated oven and cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours (your preference, I like my roux DARK). All you have to do is take it out every 20 minutes and whisk it a little. BEST roux I've ever made. Ever. And no standing over a hot stove all day! 8-10 minutes on the stove is just not enough, not even close. Everything else in this recipe is spot-on though. If the roux is cooked properly, you won't see any oil or grease floating to the top because it's been fully cooked and incorporated into the flour. Oh! And I added about 1 1/2 cups of frozen okra the last 10 minutes or so. Just a personal preference... I love okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was amazing!! I made it to take to friend who has just had a baby...delicious now or delicious reheated. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is the first time I have made a gumbo much less a roux and I was a little intimidated. I had some great gumbo in Texas and have wanted to take a stab at it for a long time. You HAVE to make this, it is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! It was time consuming, but SO worth the effort. Thanks for the Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This so VERY good. I used low sodium chicken broth and i gotten a rotisserie chicken from the deli and put that in it insteed of cooking chicken. This is a keeper forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful taste and easy to prepare. could have rated it 5 star but I like fast dishes and this is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Tanner

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
The great thing about gumbo is that you can play with this recipes to create something you truly like. For everyone who complained, this recipe is more of a guide more than following it to a "T". It is hard to mess up gumbo, just have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Followed exactly as written except I added shrimp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was great. Hubby loved it didnt even put over rice..He gave some to friend and he loved it and requested recipe.. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Decatur, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
RIDICULOUS. The first recipe on this site where I haven't changed a thing and absolutely LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very good recipe quick and easy I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States