Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Fantastic! Even with roux from a jar. I used half of a 16oz jar of roux and 8 cups chicken broth, vs. 6. Served over sticky rice sprinkled with gumbo file. I think using broth (instead of water) and andouille instead of regular sausage makes a big difference. I've loved gumbo my whole life but could never quite get the right taste, until now - THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I adjusted by adding less oil and more flour. Also adding double the chicken stock to make it thinner and lots of seasoning. It was really good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a new family favorite! Keep in mind though the recipe says feeds 10 - if you have teenagers, I would say this feeds eight. I serve it over rice (I'd suggest doubling your usual rice as a side dish serving). Also, it freezes really well. I've made it, frozen the left overs (just the gumbo, not the rice) and had a second dinner from it. I noticed a few people had challenges with the roux - you MUST be patient and pay attention. It does take at least eight minutes, keep stirring over that medium heat. I would suggest, unless you have a second pair of hands to stir while you dice other ingredients - be sure you have the other ingredients ready to go before you start the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have been making gumbo for a long time. This is a good recipe for a rustic gumbo.....but only use a half cup oil and flour. The same thickening effect will happen! One cup of oil will leave oil on your teeth. This recipe after simmering is for 4 servings....that much oil is disgusting. Try a half-cup, oil/flour roux and the rest is pretty dang on point. Simple, rustic gumbo. I have made plenty of gumbo for 8-10 people with just a half cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I had been looking for a tomato-free gumbo recipe for a while! A note to anyone who said that it turned out too greasy because of the full cup of oil: it probably needs to cook longer. A lot longer. I recently stumbled upon an easy oven roux recipe that changed my life (my gumbo-making life, that is). Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. In a cast iron dutch oven, heat 1 cup of oil. After heated, slowly add a cup of flour and whisk thoroughly and heat through. Then, just transfer the whole dutch oven into the pre-heated oven and cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours (your preference, I like my roux DARK). All you have to do is take it out every 20 minutes and whisk it a little. BEST roux I've ever made. Ever. And no standing over a hot stove all day! 8-10 minutes on the stove is just not enough, not even close. Everything else in this recipe is spot-on though. If the roux is cooked properly, you won't see any oil or grease floating to the top because it's been fully cooked and incorporated into the flour. Oh! And I added about 1 1/2 cups of frozen okra the last 10 minutes or so. Just a personal preference... I love okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was amazing!! I made it to take to friend who has just had a baby...delicious now or delicious reheated. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is the first time I have made a gumbo much less a roux and I was a little intimidated. I had some great gumbo in Texas and have wanted to take a stab at it for a long time. You HAVE to make this, it is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! It was time consuming, but SO worth the effort. Thanks for the Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This so VERY good. I used low sodium chicken broth and i gotten a rotisserie chicken from the deli and put that in it insteed of cooking chicken. This is a keeper forever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful taste and easy to prepare. could have rated it 5 star but I like fast dishes and this is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
The great thing about gumbo is that you can play with this recipes to create something you truly like. For everyone who complained, this recipe is more of a guide more than following it to a "T". It is hard to mess up gumbo, just have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States