Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now - LOVE that it has NO tomatoes! I only add 4 Cu chicken broth b/c I like my gumbo a bit thicker and I add raw chicken with chicken broth, bring to boil and simmer for a few hours, add cooked shrimp and 1/2 bag frozen okra about 30 min from end - serve over white rice = DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Was really good!! I added rice, fresh okra, and a little water to the existing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
AMAZING...made it just like it said, only I used a TB of Tony's Creole seasoning, a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning, pinch of tyme smoked Paprika and the last ten minutes added shrimp. YUM my first time making Gumbo and the whole pot is almost gone, nobody can get enough of it...SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was so yummy. I just sigh it was more clear with the spice quantity .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedBadNaughty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yes, please and thank you for the A-M-A-Z-I-N-G recipe!! I had never made gumbo before but I have made it twice now (to my family's resounding glee, lip smacking and empty plates) and I will DEFINITELY be making this recipe again AND AGAIN!! I will say that this is definitely something you have to stay on top of, don't look away from it, answer the phone or take a second to let the dog out (making roux is fast, furious, serious business) just keep it moving so as not to burn it. This will taste even better on day two and reheats well. It will make your tongue slap your brains out for sure! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very delicious. Quite easy, the only hard part was waiting while the roux was browning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBark
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
After reading many of the reviews, I decided to cut the oil to 1/2 cup and the flour to 1/2 cup. It took about 25 minutes for me to get the roux to the darkness I liked. Since there was no amount listed for the spices we had to guess and ended up adding more of the Chatcheries Creole seasoning. (about 1TBS total) Not too much salt and pepper as the creole seasoning is salty. I added a few dashes of Louisiana hot sauce and threw in some shrimp about 10 minutes before the end. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is an awesome gumbo recipe, you can't get any better for a weeknight! I followed the recipe pretty much to a T, and it turned out wonderfully. The flavor was awesome, and it was nice and thick (I was afraid it would be too thin). My husband liked it so much, he forgot to eat it with rice and just slurped it like soup! The only thing I would do differently next time is cook the roux longer. I was very careful to stir it constantly because I didn't want it to burn and be bitter...cooked it about 10 minutes total. But it never achieved that rich, velvety brown color that I look for in a gumbo (although it tasted fantastic...mine was the color of a good chicken stew...kinda dark golden brown). Next time, I'll cook the roux longer and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugaplum Wilson
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe. I tweaked a little by adding some red pepper flakes and cayenne for some heat. Also quickly grilled the smoked sausage for caramelization before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaplum Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a great gumbo recipe. But like another review said, I would halve the roux. I used 2 lbs. shreaded chicken and 1-1/2 lbs. of sausage. Could have used a little more. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States