Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nikia Janik
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Added okra, lump crab meat(canned) and cooked shrimp during the last half hour of cooking. Turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikia Janik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I was getting tired of the samo-samo so I decided to give this recipe a try since I can read and follow directions well, LoL! I messed up on my first roux because I poured ALL of the flour in the hot oil rather than sprinkling it in WHILE stirring. Luckily I also had everything ready BEFORE starting because you need to pay attention to the roux and continue mixing to the desired color. I added everything as described except garlic; I added that with the chicken stock. All in all, this recipe was DELICIOUS and the pot was empty within minutes. You bet I'll be making this again and more often. THANK YOU for making feel like an expert!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times & have to say, my family loves it! The ONLY single thing I've altered is I use 3/4c oil & flour.... This is the easiest Gumbo recipe I've ever made & just as yummy as the complicated ones. Also, I am so happy this does not call for tomato & okra...I don't understand how anyone can go wrong with the ingredients, they are all perfect! This is a keeper for our family...Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The best Gumbo I have ever had was in - Germany. Stationed there, my room mate was from LA and his Cajun wife visited. That Gumbo she made was life altering. A few years later, I visited New Orleans and was utterly disappointed in the Gumbo there. In the 25 years since, I haven't had any good Gumbo. Until now. I am a total noob when it comes to cooking stuff like this and didn't even know what roux was, much less how to make it. YoYo's instructions were right on the money. After reading comments here, I followed the recipe closely. I used 3/4 cup canola oil and whole wheat flower for the roux. Instead of cutting the onions and bell peppers myself, I used a bag of frozen ones from Trader Joes. Otherwise, it was pretty much as Yoyo specified. When she says use low sodium broth, she means it. I used regular broth the first time and it came out way to salty. Pick a brand with less than 200mg sodium per cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I tweeked a few things, but this tasted like home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenaFrazier
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
One of the best recipes I've found on here. I've already cooked it a few times and every time it's turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We LOVE this gumbo...made a couple additions, ceyene pepper,red pepper flakes,,and I took the roux idea from another recipe on sight...using the bacon grease and flour idea,,,,never commented befor, love the website and the magazine is my favorite,,,Thanks sooo much for this rich and smooth broth ,,,I love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blessed1
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this delicious dish for a family birthday dinner a party of 11 people. I doubled the recipe and had leftovers. Delightfully filling! I made mine Gluten-Free by using potato starch instead of flour for the roux. One thing is: it doesn't thicken or brown on the stove but will thicken gumbo in the CrockPot. I didn't care for the andouille sausage much, I will try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now - LOVE that it has NO tomatoes! I only add 4 Cu chicken broth b/c I like my gumbo a bit thicker and I add raw chicken with chicken broth, bring to boil and simmer for a few hours, add cooked shrimp and 1/2 bag frozen okra about 30 min from end - serve over white rice = DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States