Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious! Being from New Orleans, I can say that this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Hi, Jodi! I live in San Francisco, where cioppino and sourdough bread reign as the classic regional dishes. We don't often get to enjoy gumbo here, but I've been treated to it a couple of times by friends and coworkers who hail from bayou country. When I told them I was making a classic Cajun gumbo, they were skeptical. I followed your recipe precisely, using pork andouille from Whole Foods, a Costco rotisserie chicken, Trader Joe's free-range chicken stock and Creole seasoning I bought at a good market. Making the roux was a snap. I recommend prepping all the ingredients before first, then pouring a glass of wine or beer and stirring the roux constantly until it's ready. A couple of notes from my first gumbo: the andouille I used fell completely apart and in the end looked as though I'd used hamburger. Next time, I'll brown them separately and add the sausage with the chicken stock. I also skimmed nearly a cup of fat off the top toward the end of the cooking time. My finished gumbo looked beautiful and tasted even better, and it's actually very easy. Next time I won't fuss over it during the two hours it's simmering. Thanks again, Jodi, for sharing this wonderful regional recipe. "Gumbo? Oh, yeah. I make a killer chicken and sausage gumbo."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband thought that it was really good. I didn't add the celery, not a big fan of it. I added olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, added shrimp to it:) I thought it was super easy to make. Made my house smell amazing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
The whole family LOVED this Gumbo! Including my 8 yr old who is pretty picky. I did cut the oil & flour down to 1/2c of each and bolied covered to keep a more of a soup-like consistency. Fantastic flavor and simple recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!! Made this today and it came out perfect. Hubby loved it too. At the end, I did add some hot sauce to jazz it up a little. Thanks for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe was a hit! I've made it twice now-once for a superbowl party and the other for my co-workers. I ran out before everyone could try some. The trick is the roux-I cooked it over low-med heat for about 40 minutes until it was the color of coffee with a little creamer in it. A pain to do but well worth the time! I followed the recipe exactley except I left out the bell peppers-great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Wow, this is great stuff! I just finished my first bowl made just as the recipe states, with just one exception: Leave out the salt and pepper and just season with the creole seasoning. I use the recipe from foodnetwork created by the Louisiana chef whose name starts with the letter 'E'. It has salt and pepper components in it, so I just wanted to avoid making it too salty while allowing the creole seasoning to come through. For everyone who says it takes an hour to get a dark roux, I submit that everyone's stove is different; I had a nice chocolate roux in about 20-25 minutes. One other minor difference, I baked two chicken halves that were seasoned generously with Tony's (another cajun seasoning that you Louisiana folks will know well) and used those instead of the rotisserie chicken. Came out fantastic, and way more stew-like than the photo. The only other minor qualm I have with this recipe: Where's the hot sauce? I added some fire at the end. Now back to the kitchen for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is basically my recipe for gumbo with a couple of changes.....I make a microwave roux. mix the oil and the flour in an 8 cup PYREX glass bowl..stir well.....cook for 7-10 minutes until dark as you would like. Be very careful,, burns easily... Use thighs in making my stock. Use Tony Chaceres Creole seasoning.....DO not add salt till after tasting. ..add 2 t. thyme, 1-3 t. cayenne pepper. Use chicken, andouille sausage.... add 1 pkg frozen okra (sliced) as soon as broth is added. Cook for 2-4 hours....When you can no longer see the okra, the gumbo is done....I may need to add more broth. Keep an eye on the thickness, Then add the peeled shrimp and turn off the heat....The shrimp doesn't need to boil....... I like to use a cast iron dutch oven for cooking this.....I learned this in NO, liven in LA for 35 years....LOVE MY GUMBO!!! GEAUX SAINTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was A++ it was the hit of the Super Bowl party last night! I did add about a pound of shrimp, a pound of crab meat, and a pound of cut frozen okra but followed this basic recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I always use kilbasa for these dishes because my uncles wife was ;polish. I keep just about all these ingredients in the fridge, I guess because I'm in New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States