Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love this recipe, but hate all the stirring, so I went out and spent $9.99 on a Robo Stir just so I could make this recipe more often! (I use it for the first 8-10 min. of stirring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Not traditional as it lacks okra but definitely delicious. We sometimes add shrimp along with the chicken and Andouille sausage. Great over rice or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liebler Family

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Love! Love! Love! Other reviews state that they wanted their gumbo thicker, so they only used half the roux. I recommend adding okra to the mix following the recipe exactly! I'm not sure what it is about okra, but it has a thickening effect which is perfect for this recipe! Follow what you like when you're making this recipe though...if you LOVE celery...add more! If you don't like green peppers...leave them out! (I always add more celery and garlic!) Delicious and worth the prep and cook time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very straightforward gumbo recipe made even easier by using already prepared or leftover chicken. The roux, of course, takes time and patience... and a whole lotta stirring. Keep in mind -- the darker the roux, the soupier the gumbo. Great lazy-Sunday-afternoon meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent! We have an authentic Cajun restaurant nearby that serves up some awesome gumbo and my husband thinks this recipe rivals it. Thanks SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was my first time making gumbo and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (I thought) until my roux didn't come out, but I got it right the second time - just needed higher heat! Originally I just threw some chicken in the slow cooker but realized I had all the ingredients for this recipe (I used Tony Chachere's spice) SO happy I tried it, will be a regular dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is so delicious!!! By the time I was ready to add my stock my roux looked like dark chocolate. I was worried I had taken it too far, but all it did was make this gumbo super rich and flavorful. I only had a red bell pepper so I used that and I couldn't pass up on adding some okra either! I used chicken breast that I chopped up and quickly pan fried. I used homemade chicken stock and threw in a little cayenne for some heat. Served over rice and we both ate two huge bowls! Very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic!!!!!! Served it up with some rice & slivers of buttered french bed, oh so good!!! Oh, and added some okra & file of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This gumbo is delicious!! This was my first time making gumbo and my husband loved it!! I will definitely be making this again and again...thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was my first time making gumbo or a roux of any type - very easy to follow directions and it turned out excellent - fed a whole group at a Mardi Gras gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States