Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
RIDICULOUS. The first recipe on this site where I haven't changed a thing and absolutely LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very good recipe quick and easy I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Amazing; best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe. I have two suggestions. I usually smoke the chicken and make the stock out of the smoked carcass. Probably the best suggestion is to BAKE the roux. Found this on the internet and it works great. Heat oven to 400 then mix flour and oil in a cast iron dutch oven or what ever pot you can put in the oven. Every 15 minutes stir the mixture until you get the color you want - usually 1 to 1 1/2 hours for a dark roux. IT IS A NO FAIL WAY TO DO ROUX. No splatter, no mess. While you wait, you can prep all your veggies and then take the pot out of the oven and put it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I tweaked it a bit sorry, I cooked my seasoned chx, made my roux threw it all w/ jalepeno sausage in the crockpot on low for 6 hours! I did not put celery in it.... great stuff! Thanks for making Gimbo so simple! You really clarified this "thought to be" hard recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Love it! Delicious and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Finally a traditional southern gumbo! It just irritates me to see all the gumbo recipes with tomatoes! A REAL gumbo does not have a tomatoes!!!!! I also do not measure any ingredients. I boil 6 chicken thighs ,season the water with celery,onion, garlic(lots),salt and nature seasoning.remove chicken when done and debone. Add the meat back in the broth you just made. Cut up any sausage you like and add that also. Keep it warming. I make a really thick and dark roux but my family loves a strong tasting gumbo. I don't use a cup of oil and flour. I use about half a cup of oil and sprinkle flour while stiring until I have almost a paste consistency. Then I cook in a cast iron skillet on med-low and wisk constantly for quite a while. When it is the color I want(we do dark chocolate) and right before it burns I throw in the trinity! The onion will keep the roux from burning. I cook that for just a few minutes and add it to my slightly boiling stock pot of chicken and sausage. Stir it up to mix in the roux.After it simmers for a while grease may come to the top. I just keep skimming it off. Most times I make a second roux with bacon grease and add that to the simmering gumbo. It gives a really nice flavor. I usually add tony cachere's but that's the only heat type seasoning we use. We always serve ours OVER potato salad not rice. The flavors of the two together will knock your socks off!! And sometimes I boil extra eggs and throw those in the gumbo. And it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
i have tried several gumbo recipes and by far this is the best! i let the roux get to a rich brown color and the dish was so flavorful. everyone couldn't get enough of this dish. i know this will become a frequent repeat dinner.....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pretty good!! But why put Creole seasoning in a Cajun gumbo? Use Cajun seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe is so wonderful!! For a first time gumbo-maker, it was so easy to follow. Roux worked out perfect. I prepared as listed, except using Canola oil and Chicken breasts (as that was what I had on hand). Received numerous compliments/raves. Will try again exactly as listed. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States