Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful taste and easy to prepare. could have rated it 5 star but I like fast dishes and this is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
The great thing about gumbo is that you can play with this recipes to create something you truly like. For everyone who complained, this recipe is more of a guide more than following it to a "T". It is hard to mess up gumbo, just have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Followed exactly as written except I added shrimp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was great. Hubby loved it didnt even put over rice..He gave some to friend and he loved it and requested recipe.. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Decatur, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
RIDICULOUS. The first recipe on this site where I haven't changed a thing and absolutely LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very good recipe quick and easy I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Amazing; best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe. I have two suggestions. I usually smoke the chicken and make the stock out of the smoked carcass. Probably the best suggestion is to BAKE the roux. Found this on the internet and it works great. Heat oven to 400 then mix flour and oil in a cast iron dutch oven or what ever pot you can put in the oven. Every 15 minutes stir the mixture until you get the color you want - usually 1 to 1 1/2 hours for a dark roux. IT IS A NO FAIL WAY TO DO ROUX. No splatter, no mess. While you wait, you can prep all your veggies and then take the pot out of the oven and put it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I tweaked it a bit sorry, I cooked my seasoned chx, made my roux threw it all w/ jalepeno sausage in the crockpot on low for 6 hours! I did not put celery in it.... great stuff! Thanks for making Gimbo so simple! You really clarified this "thought to be" hard recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Love it! Delicious and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States