Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was great. I used the recipe for creole seasoning from someone who had made a comment. The recipe for creole seasoning was 1/2 t basil, 1/2 t thyme, 1/2 t oregano, 1 t black pepper, 1 t salt, 1 t paprika, 1 t pepper sauce(I used tobasco). I did only use 1/2 a cup of oil(olive oil) and 1/2 a cup of flour for the roux. Then I topped each service with a round 1/2 cup of rice. I frequent New Orleans and this tasted like something you would get in a restaurant there. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Never made gumbo before but this is delicious. It was a last minute thing and we didn't have the bell pepper or the celery but it still was very tasty and so easy to make. I skimmed about 6oz of grease from the top while it was simmering but if I had left it in it would still have been delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
While liking the ingredients for this soup, we wanted to cut some calories from the high amount of fat associated with making the roux. We also noted some reviewers felt the soup was too oily for their tastes. We decided to go w/ 1/3 cup safflower oil & 1/3 cup ap flour, saving about 1,575 calories from the dish or 158 calories per serving. The good instructions made the roux easy to make. Aidell’s Spicy Mango with Jalapeno Sausage was used. Otherwise, we followed the recipe. While our soup wasn’t as thick given less roux, it was packed with superb flavor and made a super delicious soup. We’ll be making this again!! Jodi, thanks a bunch for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Went to New Orleans and came back with a new found love for gumbo and this recipe really rings true to the gumbo I have tasted. will try to get my roux darker next time but a great recipe either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This turned out kind of slimy (even though I cooked the okra a long time - it never got unslimy) and had a odd texture. It also didn't have a great flavor - it was just alright. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Tried this recipe today and this definitely hit the spot. I added jumbo shrimp in at the final 6 minutes and it was great.... Had to add more Cajun/old bay/cayenne along with the creole seasonings to kick this up a notch but the base is very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Fantastic! Even with roux from a jar. I used half of a 16oz jar of roux and 8 cups chicken broth, vs. 6. Served over sticky rice sprinkled with gumbo file. I think using broth (instead of water) and andouille instead of regular sausage makes a big difference. I've loved gumbo my whole life but could never quite get the right taste, until now - THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I adjusted by adding less oil and more flour. Also adding double the chicken stock to make it thinner and lots of seasoning. It was really good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a new family favorite! Keep in mind though the recipe says feeds 10 - if you have teenagers, I would say this feeds eight. I serve it over rice (I'd suggest doubling your usual rice as a side dish serving). Also, it freezes really well. I've made it, frozen the left overs (just the gumbo, not the rice) and had a second dinner from it. I noticed a few people had challenges with the roux - you MUST be patient and pay attention. It does take at least eight minutes, keep stirring over that medium heat. I would suggest, unless you have a second pair of hands to stir while you dice other ingredients - be sure you have the other ingredients ready to go before you start the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have been making gumbo for a long time. This is a good recipe for a rustic gumbo.....but only use a half cup oil and flour. The same thickening effect will happen! One cup of oil will leave oil on your teeth. This recipe after simmering is for 4 servings....that much oil is disgusting. Try a half-cup, oil/flour roux and the rest is pretty dang on point. Simple, rustic gumbo. I have made plenty of gumbo for 8-10 people with just a half cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States