Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Went to New Orleans and came back with a new found love for gumbo and this recipe really rings true to the gumbo I have tasted. will try to get my roux darker next time but a great recipe either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This turned out kind of slimy (even though I cooked the okra a long time - it never got unslimy) and had a odd texture. It also didn't have a great flavor - it was just alright. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Tried this recipe today and this definitely hit the spot. I added jumbo shrimp in at the final 6 minutes and it was great.... Had to add more Cajun/old bay/cayenne along with the creole seasonings to kick this up a notch but the base is very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Fantastic! Even with roux from a jar. I used half of a 16oz jar of roux and 8 cups chicken broth, vs. 6. Served over sticky rice sprinkled with gumbo file. I think using broth (instead of water) and andouille instead of regular sausage makes a big difference. I've loved gumbo my whole life but could never quite get the right taste, until now - THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I adjusted by adding less oil and more flour. Also adding double the chicken stock to make it thinner and lots of seasoning. It was really good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is a new family favorite! Keep in mind though the recipe says feeds 10 - if you have teenagers, I would say this feeds eight. I serve it over rice (I'd suggest doubling your usual rice as a side dish serving). Also, it freezes really well. I've made it, frozen the left overs (just the gumbo, not the rice) and had a second dinner from it. I noticed a few people had challenges with the roux - you MUST be patient and pay attention. It does take at least eight minutes, keep stirring over that medium heat. I would suggest, unless you have a second pair of hands to stir while you dice other ingredients - be sure you have the other ingredients ready to go before you start the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I have been making gumbo for a long time. This is a good recipe for a rustic gumbo.....but only use a half cup oil and flour. The same thickening effect will happen! One cup of oil will leave oil on your teeth. This recipe after simmering is for 4 servings....that much oil is disgusting. Try a half-cup, oil/flour roux and the rest is pretty dang on point. Simple, rustic gumbo. I have made plenty of gumbo for 8-10 people with just a half cup of oil and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I had been looking for a tomato-free gumbo recipe for a while! A note to anyone who said that it turned out too greasy because of the full cup of oil: it probably needs to cook longer. A lot longer. I recently stumbled upon an easy oven roux recipe that changed my life (my gumbo-making life, that is). Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. In a cast iron dutch oven, heat 1 cup of oil. After heated, slowly add a cup of flour and whisk thoroughly and heat through. Then, just transfer the whole dutch oven into the pre-heated oven and cook for 1 1/2 to 2 hours (your preference, I like my roux DARK). All you have to do is take it out every 20 minutes and whisk it a little. BEST roux I've ever made. Ever. And no standing over a hot stove all day! 8-10 minutes on the stove is just not enough, not even close. Everything else in this recipe is spot-on though. If the roux is cooked properly, you won't see any oil or grease floating to the top because it's been fully cooked and incorporated into the flour. Oh! And I added about 1 1/2 cups of frozen okra the last 10 minutes or so. Just a personal preference... I love okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was amazing!! I made it to take to friend who has just had a baby...delicious now or delicious reheated. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is the first time I have made a gumbo much less a roux and I was a little intimidated. I had some great gumbo in Texas and have wanted to take a stab at it for a long time. You HAVE to make this, it is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! It was time consuming, but SO worth the effort. Thanks for the Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States