Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
MMM...MMM...GOOD! I only used half a large yellow onion and did not simmer for more than a 45 minutes total. Thick enough with 1 cup of flour. I served it over farro instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My son and I made this today and LOVED it! We will definitely be keeping this one for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
this is a wonderful recipe! I was born and raised in new orleans, this taste like the restaurant that doesnt use dark roux!!!! and the only thing I did differently was adding okra to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have wanted to make chicken & sausage gumbo for awhile. I have had the Campbell's gumbo, but I love to cook & it was time to take that step! I found this recipe last winter! The first time I scratched it, but I was able to doctor it up & it was good! So by the second time around, I knew just what I needed to do! I love veggies, so I added some okra, tomatoes, & a couple other veggies! I decided to step outside da box on the traditional new year's dinner & make chicken gumbo for my family! This recipe is saved in my bookmarks. I will continue to use it & even pass it on to friends & family! Happy New Year To You & Your Family! May God Bless U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this as written a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed this. We are from the Northwest, and have never had authentic Gumbo, so I have no reference to go by! But this did remind me of something my Mom made called chicken a la king. So, I decided to make this with leftover Christmas turkey and leftover ham instead of sausage. I also added the leftover gravy and added water to the gravy to make up for the 6 cups of broth (and made half the roux). We served it over rice and it tasted great! I would recommend everyone with leftover turkey dinner to make this, great as written too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Really good gumbo. Read the reviews and went with only a 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup flour for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My first time making gumbo and it came out really good, Thanks for the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
My wife and I love this and we are already planning to make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Born and raised in New Iberia,LA....a TRUE Cajun,and let me tell you,this is how I've always made gumbo.always a crowd pleaser.we like our roux VERY dark,so be patient,don't touch the heat,and keep stirring your roux.good things come to those who wait:) we also use raw chicken,thrown into the pot once stock is at a rice rolling boil.the longer you cook,the better it gets:) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Outstanding just as the recipe is written! We love this recipe and I feel so accomplished with my successful rouxs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States